• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 59 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

Treatment and tumour marker update

In a previous post I talked about how my tumour markers had jumped markedly since the beginning of the year.  I had talked about the fact that my count at my last oncology assesment 3 weeks go was 689.  Talking more to Dr H this week he explained it wasn’t a new way of testing the CA15-3 but a new way of measuring – semantics I know but important distinction to know.   I had gotten confused when he was talking to me last time and I thought the 689 figure was under the new measurement system but in actual fact it was under the old system and my figure under the new measurement system was actually even higher…779…gulp…!!!

The good news is which ever way they count it my tumor markers have fallen again.  Not as low as we would like but it is making me hopeful that the CT scan will show improvement too. Under the old measurement system tumor markers have fallen to 465, under new system 557, so you can see the points drop is the same with either system approximately 220 points.  My liver function tests are remaining stable as well.  They will move to reporting the tumour markers purely under the new system in the next few weeks so from then on I will be reporting ones that line up with the 779 and 557… hopefully in the 300 -400 next time?

I had a bad cold this last week (another reason for lack of blog posts until now) and I thought that might be because my neutrophils were low but they have been holding steady this cycle at between 1.5 and 2 – anything above 2 is normal and anything below 1 is neutropenic – so I’m really pleased about that.

Although my scan was supposed to be done by the 1st of May, the powers that schedule these things at Middlemore decided that meant they could schedule it on May 2nd.  This is a major improvement however on the times when the due date has gone by and I havent even received an appointment. ..And this time they have let me know my appointment time 3 weeks out from the scan instead of the 3 days notice they usually give me.

This means the next time I see Dr H on the 9th of May we will have the scan results.  If they are good we will continue on with the Taxol for a bit longer then do another scan.  If they are not then we are looking at moving to purely palliative care.  But with the tumour marker drop I am very hopeful that it will be the former rather than the latter.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Jayne Muir-james

     /  April 19, 2012

    Fingers & toes crossed the scan is good & you continue with the taxol.. Hope your rid of that cold too. I’m gunning for you. Hugz.

    Reply
  2. Fingers crossed for you Jenny! I’ve been thinking of you often, but haven’t been very good about commenting and keeping up recently – sorry. I hope the cold is all better now, that on top of the chemo effects would be sheer misery I imagine.
    Lots of hugs!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

