• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

Not normal words

Hospice

Morphine

Scary words aren’t they?

As one of my friends said they are words you associate with people who have only got weeks to live, not with me.

Have I only got weeks to live? – the answer to that is a resounding NO!!

Yet I have both these words in my life now.  I have struggled against my own psychological perception of these words, and they butt up against my perception of myself as someone who doesn’t need these things.  How can I kid myself that I am living a ‘normal’ life, albeit with cancer in it, when words like that are being used in conversation about my care.

I resisted being put on morphine for pain management for  a long time. “Nah I don’t need it – I’m not in that much pain.” – Yeah right.  The larger tumor in my liver is compressing nerves against my ribs and I have been in a lot of pain, and it is getting worse.  My pain medication for the past month or so has consisted of low dose slow release morphine, panadol and 75mg diclofenac tablets with other faster acting low dose but faster acting morphine for any additional break through pain.  I am still allowed to drive if I have not taken too many additional pills, but on days when I am in a lot of pain I tend  to stay home.

Pain management is one of the areas hospice can offer better support in and is one of the reasons I agreed to be referred to them.  When the subject of hospice was first brought up by RI my Cancer Society Liaison nurse a couple of months ago,  I said that I didn’t need them and to a large extent I still don’t.  But after talking it over with Dr H, my oncologist, who said getting into the hospice system before I really needed them was better and also that they could help me with pain management (being more expert in it)  I agreed to be referred.

One of the other reasons is that the hospice offers Family Support services and counselling and has resources  to help us with ‘what’ and ‘when’ and ‘how’ to tell YD what is going on with me.  Because I have been in and out of treatment for the last 3 and a half years, to a certain extent this way of life has become normalised to her. “Mum’s just having more medicine”. She lives away from home and has been protected from the real toll dealing with ‘Gertrude’ has had on me.  If we are going to have to tell her that the medicines aren’t working anymore, we have to do it in a way she understands and so that she doesn’t get fixated (with her autistic tendencies) on me dying and on when and how that is going to happen.  For those of you who know YD, I’m sure you can imagine as we can all imagine her saying “when are you going to die, are you going to die before my birthday?” (or other such event) and asking the question and other similar questions over and over again every time she sees me or talks to me on the phone.  I’m not sure it wouldn’t drive me a little bit crazy as well as not being very healthy for her.  It is something we really need some good resources around, to help prepare her for that eventuality, without her becoming too fixated.

Why am I telling you about hospice today – because I had my initial assessment visit from the hospice this morning.  They now know who I am and what I might need or want in the way of support in the future.  For now they will just ring every couple of weeks to check how I am and whether I need anything from them and they will get their family support services to look at what resources they can help us put in place for YD

We find out on Wednesday at my oncologist assessment appointment what the next plan is.  We think it will be moving onto the last chemo left to try.  We know it will only work for a certain length of time and then ‘Gertrude’ and her spawn will start to take over.  Only a spontaneous miraculous remission is going to stop that from happening.  I may die of cancer sometime in the not too distant future but as of this moment I am not dying of cancer,  I am just living it with it the best and only way I know how.

 

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. It’s such a tough balance-having a special needs child and your own health issues. I hope you do get the resources you need. May you have a pain-free day/evening.

    Reply
  2. I’m glad you’re taking advantage of all the resources available to you. YD definitely adds a whole new dimension and you’re showing what a great mom you are by putting aside your notions of hospice so that she has the help she needs as well. You are such a strong woman! Sending love and miraculous remission thoughts to you!

    Reply
  3. Ruth Coates

     /  February 13, 2012

    My dear friend, Hospice was a Godsend for my mom and our family. They helped so much wit her and helping us also dealing with what was going on with Mom. They came way before she needed them and this was the best idea, so that they could jump right in and help when needed. I wish for you and you family peace and hope that you will continue living with cancer for a long time. Sounds funny but the operative words are living and long time. Hugs and blessings!

    Reply
  4. ruth

     /  May 8, 2012

    Hi Jenny, Ruth here, it’s funny because i’m sick of the word pallliative which is what everyone talks about in regards to me and my treatment. It sounds to me like a giving up, no hope type of situation and i can’t allow myself to think like that. I HAVE to believe that there is hope that none of us will die and rather that i am not in remission but a sort of suspended state of not better not worse. I, like you, have to stay strong positive and happy for family friends etc that find all of this so scary, weird how the word cancer eventually loses it’s shock value the more times you hear it, like you get immune to it or just so used to hearing it, Anyway having a bit of a down day, even tho i had good news, i’m bored with not working and waiting for the lungs to heal, and just wanted to share a few thoughts with you. You are a strong person. like most women and i know you are doing your best to fight the good fight xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

