• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

Goodbye Judy

Yesterday I learnt that my fellow IBC ‘sister’ Judy had died. I shed some tears for her because even though we had never met we had shared our stories and lives with each other through our blogs then twitter and facebook. It happended very fast after she found out she had more progression in her liver tumours a few short weeks ago.   She wrote her story at ‘Just enjoy him’.  I have other IBC sisters also going through very rough times at the moment, Susan (@whymommy at ‘Toddler Planet’) and one of my New Zealand IBC ‘sister’ K in Christchurch (who by a stange twist of fate has my niece as her nurse who pops in to see her at home) .  I also know other women with BC who are facing bigger hurdles than I am, Ann (http://www.butdoctorihatepink.com/) and Natalie ( http://www.helpnat.com/).

Judy and Susan and Natalie all have younger children and that breaks my heart a little for them and their children.  One thing I am grateful for is that I got to see my children grow to adulthood – I may not live long enough to meet all the grandchildren but I know that I have done my best to leave my girls well prepared to bring up their own children, and I am content with that.  Even YD is in a place and stage that I feel ok about it.

Reading about these women and/or having them in my life puts my own position in perspective and makes me more determined to make the most of every moment I have left.  When talking to LW last night I actually invited her to my 50th birthday party – still over a year away – late December 2012, and I am setting goals like that and ODs wedding June 2012 as  dates to still be around for.  Any of you that can make it  are invited to my 50th.

I will miss Judy who was the same age as me – she had a wicked sense of humour which shone through on her blog and facebook, and my thoughts at this time are with her family  – RIP Judy

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Ning

     /  December 9, 2011

    a good strange twist of fate tho 🙂

    Reply
  2. I too had a friend, Judy, who died of inflammatory breast cancer. We went through treatment at the same time. We laughed through treatment together, we cried together.

    I’m so sorry for this loss in your life. Take care,
    Jody

    Reply
  3. Thank you so much for this. Judy was a wonderful person who is being missed by many, many people. Blessings to you on your journey.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

