• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 61 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

Sisterhood and sadness

I came from a family of seven only one of which is a boy so I have a lot of blood sisters but I also belong to a sisterhood that no-one wanted to join.  That of dealing with Inflammatory Breast Cancer and/or breast cancer metastases.

I have met some of them in real life through Sweet Louise and the IBC networks but most of them I know online.  Even if  it is only online we support and understand each other as only someone who is going through the same experience can.

In the last two days I have lost two of these ‘sisters’ J in Texas that I only knew online and M who I had met in person at Sweet Louise meetings (she was the first friend I made there).

I am sad but I acknowledge that it is not the same sadness that their close family and friends are feeling, so my thoughts  are with them at this time.

Becoming friends with others in this sisterhood, we all know there is a danger of losing them but I would rather have these women in my life for a short time than not at all.

Rest in Peace J and M – I will remember you.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I’m with you Sister. One of my online sisters is struggling and I know it hurts me less than it hurts her family but it still hurts a lot. It does me a world of good to hear that you are doing well and doing the things that matter. I hope your chemo-cation is totally restorative.

    Reply
  2. I know what you mean. I’m sorry for your losses. I’m sorry for all the losses.

    Reply
  3. I’m so sorry Judy!! Thoughts are with you and all the other sisters.

    Reply
  4. Maggie

     /  September 21, 2011

    Hope you are feeling well hen this arrives. Reason for emailing you is that I read Cait’s blog and through her blog I read yours and lots of other blogs and you all inspire me. Cait knows me as Maggie and I am in Australia and I would like to contact her by email if possible and hence me emailing you as I see you have provision for me to put my email address. If you speak with Cait could you give her my emal address or ask if it would be okay for you to give me her contact details please. I want to send some things to her children but would like to ask her direct for her home address in WIcklow. Many thanks. Maggie xx and hugsssssssss and blessings for everybody afflicted with cancer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

