• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

Extraordinary

At the afterparty

Unbeknownst to me OD nominated me for a competition run by Auckland Theatre Company where people nominated women who they considered extraordinary.

click here to see ODs nomination

To my surprise a week and a half ago she popped round to tell me I had won.  The prize consisted of a pampering session last Friday afternoon where I had a facial, manicure and my hair blow-waved at D’Aguiar.  Followed by checking in to a beautiful boutique hotel in central Auckland called Hotel DeBrett.  Dinner in the hotel restaurant, including meeting the owners of the hotel and then picked up and chaffeured to the theatre by the owner of a luxury tour and transfers company ‘A Perfect Welcome’. At the theatre I was given tickets to  the the opening night of Auckland Theatre Company’s production of “Calendar Girls” and an invitation to the afterparty where some of the stars of the show were happy to be photographed with me.   I was also given signed programmes where all the actors had written personalised messages.  Everybody I met during this experience was extremely welcoming and genuinely friendly and I had an absolutely amazing time.  We then spent the night at Hotel DeBrett with a complementary breakfast on Saturday morning.  A truly unforgettable 24 hours.

When I found out I had won I felt quite strange about accepting this prize, because I don’t perceive myself as that extraordinary.  Women I know in the international Inflammatory Breast Cancer ‘sisterhood’ are doing so much more than me.  There are women who are  battling metastasis like me who are still trying to be really hands-on mothers to their small children and acheive other things that they feel are important not only for themselves but for others.  Some are still trying to work full time as well as parenting.  I, in contrast, have only a 23 yr old daughter still living at home and am doing only two papers at university.  My husband is doing most of the household chores as I , by nature, am actually more inclined to be a slob,  and he is giving me the freedom to spend the energy that I do have on things that I really want to do.  To me that seems to be almost more selfish of me than extraordinary.

Likewise the women that are my best friends at university are women who see a need and automatically work to fill that need, they don’t do it for accolades or to win competitions but just because it needs to be done, and thats why I do what I do too.  I know a lot of women like that in the other circles of my life too.

To all the extraordinary people in my life – this prize is for you too.  I just wish I could have taken you all with me.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Ah Honey,
    You did take all of us with you, and who better to represent the whole gang! I am amazed at what you’re up to and OD knew what she was doing. I was doing the single mom thing when I went through treatment, and I couldn’t have done it without folks like you being inspiration.
    Rock on, extraordinary woman!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

