• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 61 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

Delay

After arriving home from the Gold Coast Tuesday night.  It was a pity I had to get up early and get up to the hospital for blood tests,  which I normally would have had the Friday before, and to get my next lot of Xeloda tablets.

I showed Dr H my feet which had suffered greatly at Dreamworld and we also talked about the fact I need to take things a little slower.

what xeloda plus themeparks holidays do to your feet - red cicles are blisters

This was just the damage from one days walking at Dreamworld (Wednesday)- my feet were so sore we had to resort to a motorised scooter at the shopping mall the next day, golf cart at Australia Zoo (Friday), and wheelchair for another shopping excursionon Saturday – ‘Boy, did I feel like an invalid’

no pictures of me in scooter apart from this one that YD drew

me on scooter at Pacific Fair shopping mall – as drawn by YD

because my feet and fatigue were so bad, Dr H delayed the start of  my next xeloda cycle for at least a week to allow me time to recover,  there is also talk of decreasing the dosage more.  I must admit this concerns me a bit because I worry at a lower dosage it will lose its effectiveness, allowing the tumours to grow once again.  Its very much a trade in whether I perservere with higher dose and continued good results, or compromise for more comfort and being able to do more of what I want to do.

It has taken me til now to get over the holiday fatigue and I have had to resort to blister plasters on my thumb and index finers of each hand as they are starting to go the way of my feet to enable me to type and write without pens or computer keys rubbing on my fingertips

mini blister plasters on my fingers

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

