• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other subscribers
  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

bits and bobs

A couple of things that didnt fit with the topics of the last two blog posts – not sure they deserve a blog post of their own but if I dont write them now I will forget.  Damn that chemo brain!

Firstly – I got my results back for my semester 1 papers.  I got an A for  my ‘Law’ paper that was all internally assessed, and a B- for the ‘Family’ paper which I will take as my Drs advice had been not to sit the exam for that paper (because of having a chest infection on top of chemo side effects), I didn’t finish all the questions as the Xeloda made my hand sensitive to the pen rubbing against my hand and fingers and I could only manage to write for 2 out of the 3 hours allocated for the exam and ended up leaving one whole question unanswered.  As I said in previous post discussing this,  I could have gone for compassionate marking but I didn’t want to go through the stress of organising that, so I’ll take my B- and less stress – it is still a pass.

I start Uni again this coming week but miss the first class for one of my papers and the second of the other due to YD’s trip.  Having to fit it round chemoscans and uni made this the only time we could go as any later would start impinging on assignments and exams

….and wouldn’t you know it when I started writing I forgot what the other things were that I wanted to write about.  This just shows how insidious chemobrain/brain fog is – I will edit this post later if I remember the other topics

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment