• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

It’s not my holiday

The holiday I am going on next week is a very important one.  It has been two years since we first came up with the plan and because of treatments and other time constraints we couldn’t do it until now.  I have pushed my oncologists to allow me to take this trip but it is not ‘my’ holiday.  It is YD’s.  She wanted to go to Dreamworld and she wanted Mummy to be the one that took her.  Because of her autistic tendencies , as far as she was concerned it wasnt going to happen unless Mummy was coming with her.  So we have made it happen,  OH and MD are coming to do a lot of the actual looking after her at the theme parks(Dreamworld, Seaworld and Australia Zoo – MD will go on a lot of the rides with her) because I know I will just not be able to keep up with her.

With the amount of fatigue I am feeling I am worried about how fast, or not, it will wear off on my week off xeloda.  People have been advising me I can hire wheelchairs and/or mobility scooters.  I really dont want to go down that route but I might have to – I really hate that thought!!  I will push myself because this is such an important holiday for YD but I am concerned about how I will handle it.

The  things I want to do for myself on this holiday are meet up with P another IBC lady,  see my sister and niece and meet up with old family friends who used to live down the road from us.  I also hope to have a few minutes each day to myself to swim in the apartments indoor heated pool to get my exercise/fitness back up.  With the issues with the xeloda side effects on my feet there are not a lot of other exercise options.  I also want to spend a few minutes each day alone on the beach where I can just sit and breath in and out.  I doubt the beach will be deserted but by alone I mean without anyone I know.  Hopefully OH and I will get a chance to do a few things by ourselves if we leave YD with MD but it is very dependant on YD’s behaviour.  She is so excited about this trip but I am so aware that that excitement can turn, very easily,  to over-stimulation,  and overwhelm her.

This holiday is going to be hard work for the rest of us, but if we can pull it off and give YD the holiday of  a lifetime it will be worth it.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Best of luck! I hope you manage to have a wonderful time as well.

    Reply
  2. Lynette Wright

     /  July 15, 2011

    Happy holidays. Enjoy the funtimes together and quiet time on beach.

    Reply
  3. Marti

     /  July 15, 2011

    Your family is so supportive of each other and that is wonderful, but sometimes having someone from the “outside” can be helpful. I think your trip is coming up soon and I know YD really wants you to be the one with her, but is there any way that someone trained in autism can either go with you or be “on call?” Also, I was on Xeloda during treatment and when my mom was staying with me, she would rub my feet with Cetaphil cream. Any good quality, thick cream (not a thin lotion that uses a pump) would probably do quite nicely. I may have been just lucky but my hands and feet are in really good shape, so it may be worth a try for you. I hope that YD has a wonderful time and that the trip isn’t too difficult on you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

