• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

Systems are go!!

I got the results of my scan yesterday and am pleased to announce it was positive news.  And that all systems are go for our trip to Dreamworld.  They have even decreased my xeloda dosage slightly to allow me to enjoy the trip with fewer side effects. Yay!!

The interesting news was that unbeknown to me the final report on my March CT scan had shown another lesion/tumour had popped up between my December and March scans.  I didn’t see Dr H yesterday as he is away for a couple of weeks and so when the Dr standing in for him, Dr J said”they’ve both shrunk” I was like “what?!!” as I tweeted yesterday it appeared that the original tumour in  had a baby brother I didnt know about.

Because I know some of my family are nurses and there are other people who read my blog who want to know the medical stuff. I found a diagram of the liver and have drawn a picture to show the original size of the tumours and the size they are now.

from the Radiology Assistant

segments of the liver

The large one of the tumours diagrammed below is in segment 7 the smaller one in segment 2.   The darker pink outline is the size they are now and the lighter outline their original size in the March scans

tumour size

The larger one went from 4.2×3.9 cm to 3.2×2.8 cm. The smaller one was originally 3.1×1.8 cm and is now 2.6×1.4 cm.  As you can see there has been a quite good reduction in both of them so we will keep on with the xeloda and hopefully when I have another scan in a couple of months time it will show further shrinkage.

Dr J also signed the mobility card application – we discussed how I didn’t always need it but that there were days that I did and rather than me be stuck at home like I was last week with my feet and also when fatigue was the worst this would allow me to get out a bit more on those sort of days.

She also decreased the dosage as the hand foot syndrome has got worse this round and also been affecting my lips – which are very dry and cracked regardless of what I put on them.  She partly decreased the dosage to aid my enjoyment of our time away on holiday without too many adverse side effects.

We will reevaluate the dosage levels when I have my appointment on the 27th.

Even though it was a bit of a shock to find out that there was two not one liver metastases,  I’m feeling really happy.  We get to go on our trip and we know the Xeloda is working.

That is all I need to make me happy right now.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Sis M

     /  July 6, 2011

    Good to have the good news – enjoy Oz

    Reply
  2. However many there are they are being zapped by the xeloda and that is good news. I am so happy for you! Have a great time on holiday and enjoy and rest! Then you can let me know what “Dreamworld” is…Is it like an amusement park? Hugs!

    Reply
  3. Wow! I’m so happy for you Jenny! I’m sorry you have second met but am glad that it gives you twice as much to celebrate today. I know that feeling of relief when you get proof the drug is working…it’s so hard to describe but such an overwhelming sense of joy. It helps make the side effects just a little more tolerable too doesn’t it?

    Enjoy your much deserved holiday 🙂

    Reply
  4. feistybluegecko

     /  July 6, 2011

    I was relieved to see your tweet and although little brother is not welcome, it is indeed good that both siblings are shrinking. I’m so glad that your holiday is all on, have a fantastic time! Big hugs P x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

