• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

Ok – enough of the whining

I admit the last two posts have made me feel like a right ‘moaning minnie’.  I let fatigue, frustration, and ‘female functions’ get the best of me, and I don’t like the person I turn into when I’m like that. 

I don’t like wasting my time and energy feeling like that, but sometimes I’m just too tired to stop myself.

Writing about it on the blog helps me to let it go though, so every so often I am afraid I am going to subject you to some venting of what’s in my head.  (as I wrote that I got a visual of me with my head blowing up -face bright red and steam coming out my ears)

Yesterday was a quiet day, I went out with OH for a short time, but had to cut it short as I felt a little woozy.  I rested the remainder of the day and went to bed at the very early hour (for me) of 8.30pm and slept til 6.30am this morning.  I could have slept longer but I have to get up to have breakfast and my morning chemo pills.

This coming week is the last classes for this semester at Uni and then I have approximately 3 weeks before one exam for one of my papers (Whanau-Family-Aiga Practice). The other is totally internally asssessed by assignments and quizzes (Law and the State in Social Work)  After my exam I have approximately a month before the next semester starts and I know I will make use of this time both resting and also trying to get some gentle exercise to build up my fitness.(and hopefully fitting in that trip to Dreamworld with YD).

The other thing I may be fitting in, in the next couple of months, is around the video interview  I did for Breast Cancer Aotearoa Coalition (BCAC) – they are launching the video series at the  beginning of July where my story will be edited and put with others to tell the stories of diagnoses, treatment, emotional impact etc.  I have been asked if I will be one of the ‘media faces’ for the launch .  And of course I have said ‘YES!’.  I don’t know exactly how much this will entail but you all can say I knew her before she was ‘famous’ LOL!!  😀 ( as I was writng this post – the BCAC comms person has just rung to talk to me about being included  in the press releases she is putting together)

Talking about being famous – not that I am 🙂 – I have satisfied my ‘inner geek’ by adding a couple of different statistic counters to my blog.  WordPress has its own counter but tends to count page visits so gives me an inflated total of actual visitors.  I have added Clustrmap – just because its pretty – and gives me a visual of where my readers come from. If you click on the little map on the right it will  give you a bigger map.  Thanks to my friendships with other IBC or BC people I actually have more American readers than NZers.  Statcounter (the purple numeric  counter under the map ) breaks down the statistics even more and tells me how many repeat visitors and new visitors I have.  All of this intrigues me, I didn’t write to be read by other than my family and friends to start with,  but it is nice knowing that what I write is striking a chord with other people all over the world from me sitting here in New Zealand.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. If you can’t “vent” on your blog, then where can you vent?? Vent away, I say…it’s good for the soul.

    You’re incredible to be keeping up with school through all this. Thanks for sharing you.

    Shelli in AZ, USA
    The Dirty Pink Underbelly (my blog)

    Reply
    • jaydub26

       /  May 28, 2011

      Hi Shelli, now I can figure out which red dot you are on my clustrmap 😉

      Reply
  2. Oh, honey, you strike all kinds of chords. And every word that you have written lets someone else out there know that they are not alone.

    And neither are you.

    Always praying, always on your side,
    Susan

    Reply
  3. Sis m

     /  May 27, 2011

    – venting always makes us feel better. You have more right to vent than the rest of us – always better to get it out than to bottle is up and let it fester away

    Reply
  4. feistybluegecko

     /  May 30, 2011

    Absolutely! I agree that the process of blogging is really valuable in its own right, and to me was also an unexpected bonus.

    I also share your fascination with the counters, and magic map. I am intrigued by some of the places readers come from.
    Am thinking of you and wish you well with everything you are doing and planning.
    Hugs
    P

    Reply

Leave a Reply

