• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

Making Hay…

…While the sun shines.

First a little ‘housekeeping’ – on my last blog post link on facebook there were a lot of comments made on facebook on the link itself.  I’m not trying to be a pain about this but apart from putting  the links to new blog posts there for those who don’t have me in a reader or rss or email subscription I’m really trying to shift ‘Gertrude’ off facebook and onto the blog,  making facebook my more ‘normal’ space.  Don’t get me wrong I love your comments and support but I would rather the comments were made here in the blog itself or you can fb mail me.  As YD has a facebook page herself I don’t want to worry her unduly if she reads comments about me being sick etc.  I’m not lying to her, but also want to alleviate her stress as much as possible.

Now onto the main part of the blog post – I spent the majority of the last week out and about, making use of the sunny weather and continued minimal, manageable xeloda side-effects.  Tuesday I had a Sweet Louise meeting in the morning and then one-to-one counselling at the Cancer Society in the afternoon.  You will all be pleased to know that I am fairly sane and sensible by their standards and handling things well.

Wednesday was a day of indulgence. OD and I went  to The Langham in Auckalnd and indulged in their ‘Tea Royale’

Although classed as afternoon tea it was definitely a ‘ladies who lunch’ moment. 

We had taken the train in so we meandered down to Britomart , doing  some shopping at Queens Arcade and ‘Downtown’ (picking up some books in Whitcoulls sale to feed OD’s and my ‘book addiction’)  We then made our way back to Sylvia Park where we met up with MD and SisM for dinner, Niece S and J joined us for dessert.  We spent the evening window shopping and waiting for the draw of all sorts of goodies in their ‘Winter Fashion Premiere’ draw.  Unfortunately, we didn’t win anything but it was a nice night with my older girls and extended family all the same.

On Thursday there was a group talk at the Cancer Society on managing stress and so I used that as an excuse to avoid doing my university assignment – due next week, and hopped back on the train to Newmarket.  I prefer taking the train as although I can and will drive in Central Auckland it is one of the things I deliberately chose not to do to ease my stress levels.  On the train – especially on the way home when I am tired – I can switch off, something you can’t do in peak hour traffic on the motorway.  I meandered slowly up to the Cancer Society and back stopping for lunch in Newmarket on the way back to the train.  When the talk was over I happened to chat to one of the other participants.  I think I helped put things in perspective for her as she had breast cancer – lumpectomy and radiation.  She wanted to know my story as she assumed as I still had my hair I had not had chemo.  I don’t think she could understand why in a lot of ways, I was in a better place, phsychologically than she was.  That last statement sounds a little up myself – but I think for long term cancer ‘fighters'(struggle to know what term to use there – don’t want to put patient, but don’t necessarily like the battle analogies either) we get much more adept at rolling with the punches and making the most of every day.  We still have our bad days but we treasure and don’t waste the good.

Oh and in amongst all that I still managed to get my last AFS newsletter out!  Its the formatting that is the fiddliest bit:  trying to make all the items fit certain amounts of space on a page,  finding appropriate clipart etc to jazz it up a bit all takes time.  I have enjoyed doing it for the last 7-8 years but it is one less deadline I need to worry about from now on.

I have to admit on Friday the busy week caught up to me.  With shops shut, YD away for the weekend with her house and the older girls also doing their own things I had no pressing engagements and feeling tired and headachy I must admit I curled up with books and DVDs all day.  OH was busy trying figure out how to connect up a network for  a scanner/printer that we can send to wirelessly from all our laptops so he was busy with that. So he was busy doing his own thing so I wasn’t depriving him of company either. 

Having spent the day resting I feel much better today and will try and get some work done on my assignment.  But, of course, first I had to procrastinate by writing this blog post 😀

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Angela

     /  April 22, 2011

    Glad you had an ok week Jen. Love the “procrastinating” re the assignment. I am so thinking you and I need our degrees now! Sod all this study rubbish! XXX

    Reply

Leave a Reply

