• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

25…26…27…made it!

 

OH and I celebrated 27 years of marriage on the 3rd of March.  Yes, I married young, just a couple of months after my 21st birthday LOL.  27 years ago we sure didn’t imagine our lives would be where they are now, but we are still here – together.

We honeymooned all those years ago in a lovely part of New Zealand called Tutukaka at a motel that is out on a headland so the views are spectacular and it was always my goal to spend one of our wedding anniversaries back there.  While the kids were growing up and YD was at home it wasn’t so much of a priority but when she had left home and I realised our 25th wedding anniversary was coming up I thought it would be an ideal time to go.

Unfortunately ‘Gertrude’ intervened – in March 2009 I was nearing the end of radiation treatment my skin was extremely raw from radiation as they had targetted it as well as underlying tissue due to the IBC cancer cells being in my skin as well.  I was also having still having trouble with my ongoing portacath site infection. Not condusive to planning a trip

March 2010 – our 26th wedding aniversary.  I had just started uni and I was also having problems with my white blood cell count being low from the weekly vinorelbine chemo treatments.  Again we decided it would be a little to risky to go away (especially with my history of hospital admissions).

March 2011 – we made it!!

We didnt get to stay in the same unit but we both think the unit we stayed in this time was even better than the last time –  this unit had the lounge downstairs and bedroom upstairs with balcony – what a way to start the day with breakfast on the balcony

the view at breakfast

The atmosphere is just so relaxing there – the only rush hour traffic is the fishing and diving boats returning to the harbour from their trips out to the Poor Knights and other islands

rush hour LOL

I even managed to walk the steep path down to the sheltered harbour beach – my fitness at the moment seems to be getting worse rather than better – admittedly I haven’t kept up my New Years resolution of trying to walk every night.  But since Uni started I am trying to increase my incidental exercise.

sheltered harbour beach

heading back up from the beach
I think I can make it…
And I did and the effort was worth it. 
OH and I have decided we are definitely not letting another 27 years or even 27 months go by before we go back there again.  As I have said over and over again in this blog being by the sea restores my spirit and I have to remember to not get so caught up with everyday life that I forget I need that.
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. More CFM is directly proportional to the cool air. Third type
    is named as ceiling fans with 3 lights and where the room is small it is the most efficient option.
    The blades of the fan can also offer a classy or sophisticated
    look, as they come in many different finishes and designs as
    well.

    Reply
  2. An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a colleague who was doing a little research on this.
    And he actually ordered me lunch simply because
    I stumbled upon it for him… lol. So let me reword this.
    … Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending some time to talk about this issue here on your internet site.

    Reply
  3. I do consider all of the ideas you’ve presented on your post. They are very convincing and can certainly work. Still, the posts are too short for newbies. May just you please extend them a little from next time? Thank you for the post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

