• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 59 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

Probably nothing…

Well.. I got to see Dr H today.  I don’t always see him a lot of the time I see one of his underlings.  OH came with me and we had expected to hear that my CT results were back and fine….The thing is if they are fine they usually tell you straight off the bat.  Along the lines of “Hi how are you?, well your  CT was fine” sort of thing.  When he wanted to examine me and wasn’t mentioning the scan at all, my heart started to sink.  It wasn’t till I was off the bed and sitting back on the chair that he started to talk about it.  Apparently there is a small spot in my right lung that hasnt been in previous scans – My oncologist want to review the scan with the radiologists to see if they need to take further action.  I also mentioned that my ‘arthritic hip’ was playing up and that I was getting quite a lot of groin pain on my right side and that one of my top ribs was aching more than usual.  I was putting this down to being more active – both getting more exercise and being busy getting YD settled into her new residential services house.  Unfortunately Dr H decided it was worth checking my hip out again via bone scan – when they had diagnosed arthritis it was just by xray and CT.  We are hoping that all the tests/ reviews come back clear and in the meantime he has booked the next couple of herceptins to carry on with  but warned me that that may change depending on what they decide they see in the scans. 

This leaves me hanging in limbo until the results come back.  I deal with things much better when I know things for definite, even if it is bad news.  We are still hopeful it isn’t going to be bad but it is hard to start planning what we are going to do in February when OH was having his holiday time off when we don’t know whether my 3 weekly schedule of herceptin is going to change or whether I will be required to be around for more tests/treatment.   Arrggghhh Frustration!!!!

I have to admit that it is one of the things I struggle with in my post -Gertrude life.  that my life has to revolve around, as one of the women from Sweet Louise put it , a medical diary… that our lives are ruled by when we need to be at the hospital for tests, for treatment, and oncologist appointments and that the rest of our lives have to be slotted around that.

Hopefully I will get the bonescan within the next couple of weeks and it will show just arthritic changes.  If they also decide that the spot on my lung is nothing to worry about then it will just be business as usual with herceptin every 3 weeks and more tests in a few months.

Here’s hoping thats what happens.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I am hoping and praying that is is nothing. I know how hard it is to wait, it’s not fun. Hang in there!

    Reply
  2. Sending you prayers for peace as you wait for the results. I can’t imagine how difficult it would be to wait for that kind of news.

    Reply
  3. Cheryl

     /  January 17, 2011

    I wish you well. I would never normally say that I hope you do have arthritic hips , but when it is the lesser of the evils I do wish that for you. I think that you are incredibly brave and I can understand the frustration. Waiting is not fun for anyone.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

