• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 59 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

Christmas day will soon be here…

Somehow a couple of weeks ago when I wrote the last post –  thought I had all the time in the world to get organised for Christmas – I am organised mainly although OH took it upon himself to do some of the Christmas grocery shopping without consulting me and I dont have the heart to tell him he bought stuff we didn’t need, that I was thinking of a slightly different menu.  I was going to do the Christmas grocery shopping this week having got the christmas gift shopping out of the way. 

I cant help but think OHs shopping is indicative of the way the last two Christmas has gone.  Christmas 2008 (having been diagnosed and starting treatment in Aug 2008) ended up with me being admitted to the hospital on the 23rd and being allowed out for 4 hours on Christmas day to share Christmas lunch with my family in between intravenous antibiotics.  Christmas 2009 I had just started Vinorelbine (navelbine) as a chemo for my recurrence and we were unsure of the side effects so we stocked up in advance just in case I ended up back in hospital again.  OH took a very active role both years in the shopping and organising but somehow it has got to the point where I almost feel sidelined this year.  I wanted to do the shopping and preparation my way, as this year I go into the Christmas season only on herceptin as maintenance chemo and am feeling much better than 2008/2009, and he has taken it out of my hands.  I know I shouldn’t whinge because he is trying to be a thoughtful and caring hubby and I do appreciate it but at the same time I feel like my ideas for this Christmas are redundant.  I admit I was doing things at a much slower pace than he was but he is working this week and I am not – I still have a whole week in which to grocery shop.

Its funny but until I started writing this post I didnt realise just how upset about it I was.  I just rung OH at work to tell him that.  He realises he has probably taken over a little bit more than he needed to this year.  We have both resolved to communicate a little more about it next year LOL.

This was written on Monday but not posted until today (Thursday) as I got sidetracked with Christmas preparations

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

