• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 61 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

2 days til Christmas

The last 2 weeks has tore past full of both fun and hard work.

OH celebrated his 56th birthday and the family went out to one of the Mongolian BBQ all you can eat places – OH meal was free as he was the birthday boy.  Those of you that know OH know how skinny he is – so imagine our amusement, and in the case of OD’s R, astonishment at OH’s ability to go back for seconds, thirds, fourths, fifths and sixth helpings. LOL

On Sunday the 12th I had the extreme pleasure of meeting in person another IBC sister S from Australia,  and her husband J,  who had arrived on a cruise.  OH and I picked them up and took them winetasting in West Auckland and showed them the wild west coast beach of Muriwai (including Gannet Colony).  It was amazing just how much the 4 of us clicked and really enjoyed our time together – as I said to S part of it was not having to worry about the flow of conversation being interrupted by explanations of IBC or treatment.  IBC wasnt the only thing we talked about but as treatment and recovery has been a part of our lives for the past 2 years for me, 3 for S, when we are talking about our lives it does colour the decisions we’ve made and the things we have done lately and it was wonderful having a relaxed, ‘organic’ conversation that just flowed without interruption.  We had such a great time, I made the decision to drive and meet the ship the next day in Tauranga and show them some of that part of the country too.  All in all an amazing two days and I am so glad now that I can say S is one of my real-life friends.  Now just have to figure out when I can get to Melbourne for a visit. 🙂

MDs furniture finally arrived and she is vaguely set up in the garage as her ‘space’.  She has managed to get two parttime jobs and so I have spent a lot of time dog-sitting.  She is still struggling to figure out where to from here, as life has revolved around decisions involving her and SB as a couple for the past few years and although it was her decision to end it,  it has left her with some very openended questions about her life and what direction to take.

I have tried to do the usual springclean/tidyup we do getting the house  ready for visitors.  Some of it has just been shoved in the spare room for sorting when I have more time in January. 

In other big news YD is moving house again – her decision – to a house that will have housemates her own age in.  Atlthough she has got on well with her housemates they are all significantly older than her.  The residential service that she is in decided to change the houses around ( with the clients consent) to create two young adults houses – one young ladies, one young men so that they get to do things that are more what they want to do – dont see YD going out clubbing to 3am or anything though LOL.  I think this move will be good for her as in her old house she sort of went along with the majority rule of the other 3 housemates where as in this house she will have a more integral say in what happens.  It will also be a more physically active house which will be good for her.  This move is happening the first week after New Years.  So we are involved in the planning and execution of the move as well.  We are using the opportunity to go through her clothes and other stuff to see what needs to be moved to the new house and what needs to be stored/chucked. 

YD will be at our house from the 24th to 28th.

So as you can see life has been busy.   But I still feel more on top of things than I have in previous years.  I will wrap presents and do more tidying this morning and then this afternoon I will go up to the hospital for my herceptin infusion.  which just leaves fresh fruit and veg shopping and food prep for tomorrow (Christmas Eve).  I’ll do the shopping in the morning before picking up YD and then she can ‘help’ me in the afternoon.

Happy Christmas everyone

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Merry Christmas to you and yours!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

