• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

back to normality?

While I was away I got the appointment for the CT scan that they wanted me to have before Christmas.  I received it in the mail and it was lucky that OH knew how to recognise the envelope so that I knew about it before I came back. 

I arrived back on the 1st December, Wednesday late afternoon and my CT had been scheduled for the 2nd at 8.30 am. I had to be back before the 2nd as it was the day of my next scheduled herceptin infusion but it meant that I had to go to two different hospitals the day after I came back.  The scan was done in the morning at Middlemore and herceptin at Auckland City Hospital in the afternoon. 

As usual the nurses were surprised about how blase I was about the scan and I was counting up how many scans I’ve had since August 2008 – I’ve had two bone scans, 2 brain scans (one CT , one MRI) and 8 CT scans of chest /abdomen/ pelvis .  No wonder I am just treating it like a routine thing.

OH wanted me to get my scan results before Christmas but they couldn’t fit me in so I get them on the 12th of January.  We are assuming that they are still all clear and it is amazing how important it is to me going into this Christmas  with no treatment other than herceptin.   I was in hospital Christmas 2008 and when I started the vinorelbine chemo just before last Christmas for my recurrence, one of the first questions YD asked was whether I woud be in hospital for Christmas again but the most reassurance we could give her was that “we hope not”.  This Christmas we really wanted to have a ‘normal’ Christmas without the cloud of chemo complications hanging over us.  I do have a herceptin infusion on the 23rd of December but that is not going to effect our Christmas other than me having to allow time for it amongst the Christmas preparations.

We have spent the last few days dogsitting until MD arrived up in her car on Monday and then she and I got stuck into clearing the garage to store her stuff in.  We are still awaiting the arrival of the furniture truck so one of us has to be home all the time til it arrives – they are supposed to ring before they arrive but they may not.

I caught up with my uni classmates for a bbq last Saturday night.  – After spending most of a week with them during the past year I definitely miss their faces.  I am meeting up with my smaller group of close uni friends for coffee on Friday.

I am looking forward to next week when things are organised and I can just get on with Christmas organisation

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

