• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 61 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

Destinations

A few weeks ago I was planning to have a nice peaceful break after finishing  uni , having some rest and relax time and part of that with was going to be spending a week or two in Christchurch with MD.

Due to the news that I told you about in ‘Disconnection’ that isn’t going to happen quite the way we planned.  I am still heading for Christchurch but now it is to help MD pack up her house and move back up to live with us.  Not so relaxing LOL.   To give me some relax time I decided rather than fly down I would take the Tranzscenic train routes.   So the plan is that I catch the “Overlander” train tomorrow morning at our local train station and travel down to Wellington.  (Thanks UpsideBackwards for being my Wellington “uofficial tourism guide” and answering my queries) . I arrive in Wellington tomorrow evening and have got a place to stay only 5 minutes walk from the train station.  I stay one full day (two nights) there, then catch the ferry across to the South Island.  I stay Tuesday night with my cousin J2 and then take the “Tranzcoastal” train from Picton to Christchurch.  I’m spending approximately a week in Christchurch and then flying home with Halo (MD’s dog) to be back just in time for my next Herceptin treatment.

Most of MD’s household stuff will be loaded on a furniture moving truck the day before I leave.  MD will drive her car back up with her friends over the course of 3 days the following weekend.

I’m taking my laptop and will have internet access (via Tstick mobile broadband) while I am gone so look for blog updates and tweets letting you know of my adventures

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. BRO

     /  November 19, 2010

    See you when you get here !!

    Reply
  2. Good luck! And how lucky you are to be talking with Kate!

    Makes me feel all giggly to hear you two talking!

    Reply
    • yes you can visit New Zealand vicariously through us!! Always think it is interesting the connections we make – Kate and I, although both living in NZ, have been put in touch through you in America – a trifle convoluted but I do thank you for your part in it

      Reply
  3. I just found your blog. As a fellow cancer survivor, my thoughts and prayers are with you.
    Also…Great Blog! You are a credit to the cancer blogging community. I have added you to my blogroll, “Cancer Blogs Lists” with over 1200 other personal cancer blogs at http://www.beingcancer.net, a cancer networking site featuring a cancer book club, guest blogs, cancer resources, reviews and more.
    If you have not visited before or recently, please stop by. If you agree that the site is a worthwhile resource for those affected by cancer, please consider adding Being Cancer Network to your own blogroll.
    Now that you are listed, you can expect to gain a wider audience for your thoughts and experiences. Being Cancer Network is a place to share and communicate.

    Take care, Dennis (beingcancer@att.net)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

