• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 59 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

Disconnection

I realised today it was three weeks since my last blog post and I have to admit some of that was deliberate.  I had an absolutely mad week the first week of November with all four of my university papers scheduling their exams for that week.  I definitely had very little time for blogging that week. 

The following week I made a deliberate decision to not be online as much as usual (no blogging, no tweeting and very little facebook)- I just felt I needed some “me” time – I read several light chick-lit books, I got my hair cut and recoloured.  Most of my grey hairs seem to be at the front so when I look in the mirror all I see is grey and at 47 (nearly 48 ) I’m so not ready to look that old.  I even treated myself to a facial .  There was a few other things -such as oncology assessment and herceptin –  I had to fit in that week but by and large it was a “me” week and I really appreciated how much I needed it.

This week I have been more active and on track and due partly to another major disconnection that has happened in our family’s life.  MD and SB , after 6 years together, decided to break up the last week of October.  He has just been deployed on a 6 month peacekeeping mission this week (Pacific, thank goodness, not Middle East) The breakup has been reasonably amicable and I am very proud of both of them for handling it as well as they did.  SB even came to see us last Sunday when he was up saying farewell to his family before he left which I think shows a great deal of mutual respect between he and us.  I won’t tell anymore of their story as it is not my story to tell. 

The only trouble with not blogging for a few weeks is that you end up with lots of things to tell so I am breaking it down to more manageable slices  this will be one of my “D” series of blogs over the next couple of days – ‘Decisions’ and ‘Destinations’ to follow as time allows

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

