• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

Juggling

I feel I’m juggling several balls in the air at the moment – I want to be involved with Pink Ribbon Breast Cancer  awareness in October but I also have several assignments due at the beginning of October too.  What to do? … what to do?

Unfortunately they all occur in the first half of the month too.  On the 2nd we have the Dove Pink Starwalk which also coincides with YDs ball night so have to juggle helping with preparations for that – she is adament she wants to get her nails done at a proper nail salon so I am taking her to that in the morning and then her house staff will finish getting her ready and take her to the ball.  We sorted out what dress she was going to wear yesterday – I managed to talk her out of a 80’s bridesmaids dress that one of the staff had given her as a hand-me-down from one of the other housemates – not really appropriate for a 21 year old in 2010. 

I have assignments due 6th (2000 word essay + interview transcription on Professional Communication Skills) and 8th (1000  in tongan about customs) then MD is up for the weekend 6th -10th (as its the closest to her birthday and SB will be away training).  She and I will take part volunteering in the Pink Ribbon appeal day on the 8th.  We also have to fit in a birthday lunch or dinner with the family while she is up.  I also want to volunteer for the WIMA ride on the morning of Sunday 10th.  On the 15th I have a 20 page assignment due for my ‘Treaty of Waitangi’ paper.  My plan is to really put my nose down , bum up and try to get as much done as possible before the 2nd (a week away) as I possibly can so that I can acheive both objectives. 

Then there is appointments with my breast surgeon on the 5th and my second Sweet Louise meeting (12th).  The first one went well with most people making me feel welcome –  but then I had to spoil it by having a dizzy spell in the middle of it – I joked that it was just to make sure they wouldn’t forget me as one of the newbies.  Ever since that last dizzy spell (17th) I have had an overwhelming feeling of lethargy which I am only just getting on top of now hence the rush now to get my assignments done.

I plan to do the same as last October and wear Breast Cancer survivor t-shirts every day to remind people that behind all the hype around Pink Ribbon there are individual lives forever changed by this life-threatening illness and I hope to spread the word about IBC (inflammatory breast cancer) – thats its not all about lumps while I’m doing it.

You probably wont see another post on here for the next couple of weeks

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

