• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 59 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

I’m a geek!

Some of you may already have known that LOL!!

The title of my blog is “Get Out Gertrude” the subtitle is “My battle with Inflammatory Breast Cancer and rediscovering normality” and I thought I would do a series of little posts about what normality means to me – although as I write this I remember a card OH once gave me that was along the line of ‘front of card’ – “I dont want a nice normal relationship” ‘inside’ “I like ours so much better.”

All this quake business really bought out the inner science geek in me.  I spent hours looking at the data at Geonet and plotting them on Google Earth. At first it was just trying to figure out where the quake and aftershocks were in relation to MD, SB, Bro, etc but along the way I actually realised how much I enjoyed the science side of it and it reminded me how interested I was in the whole earthquake/volcano natural sciences field.  I started following Sciblogs on twitter and generally embraced my inner science geek.  I was showing one of my uni friends S the work I had done tracking the aftershocks and was saying that I am interested in that sort of thing anyway and she turned round and said why on earth was I doing a Social Work degree but  I already know my science geekdom has already been invaluable in navigating my way through the medical jargon that surrounded both YD’s diagnosis of chromosome deletion but my own of Inflammatory Breast Cancer, and I know that is one of the strengths I’ve always brought into my work with other people – that I can understand the jargon and break it down into layman’s terms.

But wait there’s more – that is not my only claim to geekdom – I am also a bit of a language geek.  My children were made fun of at primary school by their peers for knowing big words like facetious and pedantic and using them appropriately – it became a bit of a running joke in our house for a while about whether they were being facetious or pedantic.  I love people who are clever with words such as xkcd .  My love of language hasn’t always shown through on this blog as chemobrain, stress , time constraints and so on often stop me from being as eloquent as I know I can be.

I am also in a small part a computer geek especially around the internet although by true internet/computer geeks I would be considered but a newbie.  But for my age (women of a certain age, hehehehe) and stage in life I am an oddity amongst my real life friends embracing such things as blogging and twitter.  Blank looks are the usual response I get to some comment I make about it.  I was also considered unusual for enjoying computer games from the first time I got a computer, my favourite games turnbased role playing strategy games such as CIV 3 or Heroes of Might and Magic 2.

But all this geekiness is part of who I am and part of the normality of  my past and present and future.  I embrace it and acknowledge that I am and forever will be a Geek.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Ho0ray for geekery! We’re language geeks too, as evidenced by my 7-year-old begging for (home-made) grammar worksheets in the school holidays and now learning Latin just for the fun of it.
    The xkcd wedding cake I saw pictures of recently made me want to get married all over again 🙂

    Reply
  2. BRO

     /  September 10, 2010

    You inner geek you – go girl go – I know the feeling of being computer literate/sciencey/ nerdy, shows at my age too (8.5 years older)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

