• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 59 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

Celebration of Remission II

Otherwise known as my Indulgence weekend.

My celebration started on the Tuesday with the news that I was in remission for the second time – because I had the flu we limited the celebration on the day to having lunch at one of our favourite restaurants on the way home although OH had originally thought he would take me out to one of the more top-end restaurants in Auckland for dinner but I just wasnt going to be up to it.

My weekend of indulgence to celebrate remission kicked off on Friday afternoon when I went out for celebration drinks after Uni with a bunch of my classmates – AW, AE, AC, PC, EC, RC and RMS – thanks guys.

On Saturday morning OD and I went to the Indulgence show.  Where we indulged so much( facial and shoulder/head/neck massage, tastings of lots of dielicious foods both sweet and savoury, a cocktail and a glass of champers), that I was a little later home than expected to go on the second part of my indulgence weekend with OH.

We went to Mt Maunganui for Saturday night where I had got a very reasonably priced motel unit with views over the beach and spa bath included. Apart from a small problem with a malfunctioning dishwasher (which we hadnt touched may I add) OH and I really loved the motel and will probably stay there again at some stage.  The indulgence continued… walking to the restaurants we had dinner at my favourite cafe down there, Volantis.  I have always loved the ambience of this place with its metallic fishy artwork on the wall

 

After we walked back to the motel we had dessert that I had picked up at the indulgence show (some beautiful gourmet french desserts) a soak and a glass of bubbly in the spa bath then bed.

Due to the malfunctioning dishwasher I was awake early and caught the sunrise and before we walked to breakfast I had a walk on the near-deserted beach – which I describe as indulgence for the soul.

It was Mother’s Day and I proved what a good mother I am by taking time to visit the Tauranga bridal expo – to get ideas for MD as one of her ideas for her wedding is to get married at the Mount on the beach.  They still havent set a date as with SB being in the army, there is question marks around when he might be deployed etc but we thought we would get info so when they do decide on a date she can organise it in a shorter time frame. 

I also indulged in a spot of indulgent day-dreaming while we were down there and went to visit an open home of the house at Papamoa that is the first prize in the Heart Foundation raffle – yes I could definitely imagine it as our holiday home – We always support this raffle but it is the first time I had actually seen one of the home prizes they offer.

Neither OH or I wanted to come home but knew we had to be back for Uni (me) and work (him) so we travelled back on Sunday afternoon

I really enjoyed and appreciated that time away no matter how small it was and now that I know Im in remission OH and I are starting to plan our trip to Samoa which we will be doing end of June beginning of July for approximately 10 days – we have had to squeeze it in to the period I’m on break between semesters but also in between herceptin treatments. 

If I continue on with the herceptin and Uni this is how things are going to be for the next couple of years – figuring out when good breaks are so that we can have those times to do things to recharge our energy and do some of the things we have always wanted to do.

Anyway having written three blog posts today – you can fnd arrows back to the other two at the top of this post if you are interested – I had better get on with my Uni assignments

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

