• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 59 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

In the Pink – part IV – pink wings, purple hair!!

No my hair isnt really purple – it just has some dark purple streaks mixed in with dark brown/dark auburn base colour it actually looks pretty cool I think. 

top view of my new hair colour

top view of my new hair colour

 I decided to go a bit silly with my hair colour as a way of cheering myself up in light of needing more radiation.

I feel so much more like the 46 year old I am. The gray streak at the front of my hair just made me feel old every time I looked in the mirror.

On the whole I am feeling really good apart from soreness and I am definitely in a better headspace now I know what we are dealing with.  I was stressing and worrying about whether I was stressing and worrying about nothing.

Waiting for appointments is driving me a little nuts.  I can’t really make any plans until I have my initial radiation oncology appointment (where we discuss treatment details) and I havent heard from the hospital when that is yet.

the guys tshirts for the walk

the guys tshirts for the walk

To keep myself busy I have been unleashing my creative side creating wings and t-shirts for the Dove Pink Star Walk that was on last night.  I really enjoyed doing it and I think I will try to do more creative stuff in the coming months when you are concentrating on creating something you can forget everything else that is going on.

the wings

the wings

There was about 4000 people taking part in the walk last night and as OD said it was neat to be in amongst that many people who were all there for the same thing. The “Get Out Gertrude” team consisted of myself, OH, OD, OD’s R, SisM, SisMOH, and niece S – we are going to make a tradition of it – more members for the G.O.G team are welcome for next years event.

Dove Pink Star Walk - fundraising for NZ Breast Cancer Foundation

Dove Pink Star Walk - fundraising for NZ Breast Cancer Foundation

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Sis M

     /  October 19, 2009

    Doing the walk with you was awesome – definitly in on the team next year – we all need to wear the “T” shirts and be very creative in a “costume”

    Reply
  2. Sis M

     /  October 19, 2009

    By the way, your hair colour suits you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

