• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

In the Pink – Part II (boohoo)

 “boo hoo or rather Bugger!!!” was my reaction to the news I got at the oncologists yesterday.  Forgive for not updating blog til now  but had a lot of things to do and also wanted to get my head on a bit straighter before writing this post.

As you have been aware if you have been reading this blog I have been having a few niggles – one of which was creating swelling and tenderness in the area circled in the following picture.  Unfortunately the CT scan showed I have an enlarged node (internal mammary lymph node under my rib cage)  This node was not enlarged in the CT scan done at my primary diagnosis August 2008. 

area circled is the area I have swelling and tenderness

area circled is the area I have swelling and tenderness

I saw Dr H yesterday (my head oncologist – sometimes I see his underlings)  and unfortunately just by his physical exam of me coupled with the CT findings he is pretty sure it is cancerous and he is referring me to the radiation oncologists for more radiation to that particular spot.  This spot was not targetted in previous radiation as it had not been shown to be affected at that time. 

I asked him if there was any chance that it was something else and he said no.  And as I have said to people – he has “been there seen that” so I trust his judgement.  He wouldn’t have been so adamant if there was a possibility of it being anything else.  And he also said if I was going to have problems this is one of the first places he would expect to see something.

The good news is that it hasn’t spread anywhere else and while I  am not ecstatically happy about this recurrence it is manageable and treatable.

my "diagnosed with recurrence" bead

my "diagnosed with recurrence" bead

I had bought myself a bead for my “cancer beads” bracelet which I was intending to put on yesterday as a ” getting through the first recurrence scare” bead but now it is a ” getting diagnosed with recurrance” bead and I will not be adding my NED anniversary bead in April but adding at least another “radiation” bead and then hopefully “acheiving NED again” bead.

 To some people this may sound silly but it is these little rituals that have helped me to get through this psychologically.

In other news I am definitely helping out on Friday with the local Pink Ribbon street appeal and at the motorcycle fundraising ride in Auckland on Sunday

MD is flying up for her birthday this weekend as SB is away on exercises and now with this news I am really glad she had already made those plans.  We haven’t told YD as yet but will probably tell her this weekend.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. sish

     /  October 6, 2009

    bugger shit damn blast as a very wise woman we know would say

    now thats said its time to tackle head on whatever is in the way – thats more me than her but she would be rooting for you too

    Reply
  2. BRO

     /  October 9, 2009

    3 guesses who the wise one was !!!

    Reply
  3. Buggar Jenny. You are a strong and very brave woman. I want to thank you for making me more aware of IBC. I follow your progress on facebook and have just discovered your blog (which I will also follow).

    Sending you love and best wishes. x

    Charlene
    x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

