• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 59 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

a year ago

Exactly  a year ago today I was sitting in a doctors office being told I had cancer – not just cancer but a rare, aggressive “this may kill you” type cancer.  WOW and I’m still here!!

Part of me can’t believe its been a year.  I still remember sitting in that office as clear as day. 

I am glad I have been busy with normal life things so as to not dwell on this anniversary too much.  We are getting ready for a garage sale of a lot of our old stuff and a lot of stuff MD left behind with her move.  I worked 3 days last week fill-in shifts at my old job for the person that is away on holiday.  I also worked this morning.

I am still having a lot of ‘fun’ with the recognition factor.  I am surprised at the people who do recognise me and those that have known me for years that walk past with no hint of recognition.  This has been more obvious with me going back to work.  There are people who were my regular customers that recognise me straight away and others that assume I am some new person starting.  If I see someone trying to figure out who I am I usually give them a few clues and once we start talking they click but those who are completely blank I dont even bother about. 

I think the trouble is that for many people the recogniton factors for me were my brown curly hair and my rather large bust. Now that I have neither of those they think I look vaguely familiar but because I have neither of the old ‘instant recognition factors’  they dismiss me as someone who vaguely looks like someone they know. Well that my theory on it anyway.  As long as my close friends and relatives know who I am, I am not too worried about losing a few friendly aquaintances.  I had one friend who hasnt seen me for a year or more tell me today that I was looking much better than she expected from  what she had seen on my blog – she says the pictures don’t do me  justice – but that I dont look like the me she remembers

I was supposed to start a “Moving Forward” course  done through the Cancer Society but in a phone call today they have postponed me doing it until I have had my last herceptin and have the all clear from my doctor to do it.

I can do the course in October but am going to see the counsellors for some 1 on 1 sessions before that as I feel I need to do something to get myself “moving forward”  I am feeling at a bit of a loss what I want my new reality/normality to be.

On the bright side today is also the anniversary of OH and my first date, 27 years ago, when he was 27 and I was 19.  I wonder if we will get 27 more?!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Congrats on your year anniversary.
    Maybe your new normal is spreading the word about IBC.
    Education is a powerful thing.

    Patti Bradfield, President
    Inflammatory Breast Cancer Foundation
    http://www.eraseibc.com

    The IBC Foundation Radio Show live and podcasts from previous shows
    http://www.thruoureyes.org/ibcshow.html

    http://www.komonews.com/ibc/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

