• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 61 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

Presenting Pruscilla

I got my proper silicon prosthesis on Tuesday.  I also got a fabric one for swimming.  I got 5 bras and a swimsuit.  We get a $600 allowance from the Ministry of Health but when the prosthesis itelf costs $377 it means if you want more than one bra you are going to pay out yourself. We get a new entitlement every 4 years. Pruscilla should last that long if I take good care of her.  I have to wash her every night to get any build up of body oil off her as that can start to degrade the surface.  I then have to dry her and put her in a plastic form that helps to retain her proper shape

Pruscilla

Pruscilla

 

Pruscilla in the bra - sits better when its on me

Pruscilla in the bra - sits better when its on me

 

Pruscilla's bed

Pruscilla's bed

 

the backside of Pruscilla in her box

the backside of Pruscilla in her box

I feel great with Pruscilla on.  She’s the right weight and when I look down I feel like I’m looking at two real breasts.  Nobody can tell which is the false one.  I bought my first new top for my smaller size on my way to the hospital for my herceptin on Friday – it was a medium!!!!  I felt so good!!!!

My pink pilates exercise programme is going really well and my fitness is getting so good I walked to the physio on Thursday and then felt so good I walked from there into town to catch the train to go to see my breast surgeon. I was scheduled just to see the breast surgeon’s nurse but BS was in between patients so popped into the room.  She is extremely pleased with the way both my Gertrude side has healed and how the reduction looks.  She hadnt been certain how well my  Gertrude scar would heal because you can never tell how radiated skin is going knit together,   but it looks really good. 

 I know some of you are interested in what the scar looks like and I will put some photos on the blog once I have taken them but the post will be password protected so it isnt public to everyone on the web.  When I have done the post I will let you know what the password is.   I am still feeling really ok about being flat chested on that side when I dont have a bra on and when I look in the mirror. 

Its now only a week to OH and my trip – I’m excited its the first overseas trip for me in 14 years. 

 This coming week I am using the voucher that OD gave me for a facial and combining it with getting my legs waxed etc so I am presentable in sunny Queensland.  I also have an appointment with the lymphodema therapist on Tuesday afternoon.  She will see if I have to take any extra precautions to guard against my arm swelling while I’m flying or otherwise while I am away. 

On Thursday I have an appointment with the head vascular surgeon who looked after me when I had the recurrent infections in my portacath site.  He had read the reports from my oncologist about the portacath site still not being 100% healed when they saw me just after my mastectomy operation and want to have a quick look at it myself.  BS had looked at opening it up and tidying it up when she did my surgery but had decided it was so close to being healed she would leave it.  I didnt know anything about this until I got a text reminder on my mobile phone on Wednesday.  the day they made the appointment – I got the letter the following day.   The text gave me a fright as it didnt say what the appointment was for -just that I had one.  and when I rang the confirmation line they said it was an urgent referral to vascular from oncology but couldnt tell me any more than that.  A couple of phone calls later I got put onto the scheduler for the vascular teams who went into my file and found out for me it was purely the vascular surgeon making the decision to review it, not an actual referral from oncology.   I had hoped not to have any Gertrude related appointments this  week and just be able to relax and get organised for my trip but I decided to go ahead with this appointment just for piece of mind.

Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Lori Frechtman

     /  June 14, 2009

    So thrilled to hear of your wonderful progress. I hope you and OH have a wonderful trip, relax and enjoy each other and being away together. Keep up the great work/ attitude. You are an amazing role model. Love to everyone. XXOO

    Reply
  2. Diane dotchin

     /  June 17, 2009

    Have a great holiday. You so deserve it
    Diane

    Reply
  3. Marie

     /  July 25, 2009

    Jenny you have made a remarkable recovery and although I have not sent many messages I have followed your progress

    Reply

Leave a Reply

