• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

Keeping up to date and Twitter

I have had a good last few days,  I didn’t wear my compression sleeve yesterday (and didn’t get an achy arm) even though I had a busy day – In the morning I went to a craft market with MD, then picked up YD and OH  and went out to meet my sis H and her partner M, who are over from Australia, for lunch.  We had a very leisurely lunch and catch up (3 hours long).

OD and her  man R also came.  This was the first time that R had met MD and YD and the longest he had spent with OH and I, as when OD first started going out with him 3 months ago, I said I didn’t want to meet him until I had my replacement teeth (after losing my top partial plate at the hospital).  The funny thing was, the first time he did meet me about 3 weeks ago, I had my new teeth in but not Cushla so I was lopsided but given that he already knew the circumstances I didn’t feel too self-conscious. 

Next week I am quite booked up with Gertrude-related appointments.  Tuesday morning I have an appointment with the oncologist to OK my last 4 herceptin treatments (that will take me to the middle of August).  Tuesday afternoon I have the fitting for my mastectomy bras and getting my silicon prosthesis.  I think I will still wear Cushla (my post- surgery soft cushion wadding one) around the house some days or like today just go one-boobed.

Thursday I have my Pink Pilates in the morning and an post-op follow-up appointment with the breast surgeon’s nurse in the afternoon.

Friday I have my herceptin. 

Which brings me to ‘Twitter’ – I am not logging on and updating the blog everyday but you will notice on the right-hand side there is a box titled Twitter – for those for you who don’t know this is an internet application that allows you to miniblog or message.  I can ‘tweet’ from my internet home page or from my phone and it will show up in this box.  So if I havent written an actual blog post for a while the last 8 twitter updates will be in that box. I am hoping I will be able to ‘Tweet’ messages from my phone while I am on holiday in Australia (only two weeks to go -Yahoooo!!!!) as my phone is on global roaming.

So if you are wanting to know what’s happening keep an eye on that ‘twitter box’ too, as well as on the main blog posts.  If you are a twitterer yourself feel free to follow me.

In my next blog post I will show you the before and after shots of my hair – had my first haircut last Tuesday – and also show you what my new prosthesis looks like

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. BRO

     /  June 6, 2009

    3 hr lunches – good for some – you will have needed an afternoon nap after that ?? Give mine & R’s love to H & M.
    Don’t overdo things before you go to Oz ay !! – good to see things are still mainly on the way upwards health wise.

    Lots of love …………BRO

    Reply
  2. jayne

     /  June 7, 2009

    Great to hear everything is still on the up, but you can relax sometimes you know. Lol.
    Can’t wait to hear all about the overseas trip when you get back, I’ve been hibernating just a little (must be the weather!) but will catch you when I do.
    Thinking of you heaps – still. Funny that. x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

