• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

Dancing on the ceiling

Oh what a feeling, dancing on the ceiling – these Lionel Richie lyrics accurately describe my feelings right now.

As some of you already know I saw my breast surgeon yesterday for the pathology results from my surgery – they were as follows

1.  the lump in my left breast was definitely a non cancerous fibroadenoma – whew!!!!

2.  that she had only removed 10 lymph nodes from my right arm pit which very large and she said almost gave the appearance of two lymph nodes joined together (double lymph nodes) . all 10 were negative!!!!!

that in the sectioning of my breast they had done at present they cannot find any trace of the cancer!!!!

They are resectioning to double check so this isnt totally official yet but at the moment there is no evidence of cancer!!!!!!!

What does this mean ? – It means if the recheck comes back clean as well I am officially in remission or NED (no evidence of disease).  I was not expecting such a outcome at this stage – I was sure some of my nodes would still be positive and that there would still be a small amount of cancer in my breast.  but that they had got clear margins around it.

Part of the reason I didn’t post this news last night is that a) Iwas having a glass or two of champagne to celebrate and b) because I had the oncologist visit today, I could clarify what it meant in terms of treatment and prognosis

This according to Dr H is what it means. – yes I’m in remission as long as the recheck comes back clean.  The chances of me having recurrences and metastases is very much reduced.  There cannot be a certainty that there will not be secondary cancer by the cancer cells migrating elsewhere but the fact that the chemo and radiation had such a good effect on my breast – it is hopeful that the chemo also killed the microscopic cells which may have just been about to set up house elsewhere in my body. 

The other thing that came out of today’s appointment is that I will be stopping the herceptin in August,when I will have had my years worth.  When I was originally diagnosed there was a possibility that Dr H would keep me on Herceptin longer – but because I have had such a good response we will stop it at the year.

In view of my “Is the war over?” post,  Gertrude has not only surrendered but we have totally annihilated her troops!!!  Victory is most definitely ours!!!

Yesterday I couldn’t stop smiling, while I was with BS all I kept saying was WOW!!!  It is just such a huge relief to have this sort of news.  I wanted to dance and jump around for joy but my surgery wouldnt allow me to so that – but man, was I dancing on the inside.

Now I just need to concentrate on recovering from my surgery – this will take another couple of weeks.  I have signed up for “Pink Pilates” which is a programme that was started in Central Auckland but is now nationwide including a South Auckland provider who is only 2-3km away from where we live.  This is a combination of exercise programme , physiotherapy and other welllness techniques to aid full recovery from surgery and treatment. 

This will hopefully mean that by the time we go to Australia at the end of June my fitness should be really good and I should have no lingering effects from surgery.

This brings me to what will become of this blog if I am in remission.  This blog was primarily set up to help keep people informed of my progress in fighting Gertrude.  With Gertrude gone – should I carry on?  I think there is a place for this blog to let you know how I am doing in the recovery phase and as I discover how to live my life again.  Things will never be the same as they were before Gertrude and you are welcome to travel with me as I discover the whole new world out there.

Thank you for all your support thus far

Previous Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. ning

     /  April 28, 2009

    awesome blog aunty.. im soooo stoked 4 u

    Reply
  2. Shona Williams

     /  April 29, 2009

    That is absolutely fantastic news – fingers crossed for the next path. results. I hadn’t heard of pink pilates before – looks like a fab program…. so I am thinking you are going to need a workout t-shirt for that – so if you still want one of those hilarious cancer t-shirts let me know – size, color, design and all your details. Yahoooooo

    Reply
  3. BRO

     /  April 29, 2009

    R & I are wrapped at the news – we reckon keep the blog going – its a good way of seeing whats happening . Some bright guy suggested this blog so it would be rude to stop, wouldn’t it ??

    LOL……. BRO

    Reply
  4. Mrs 5 minutes

     /  April 29, 2009

    Wow!! Absolutely delighted with the news, believing that the recheck will confirm the results.

    Reply
  5. jenny

     /  April 30, 2009

    great to hear the good news

    Reply
  6. Suzette

     /  May 2, 2009

    Absolutely fabulous news. I have followed this blog ever since your OD gave me its address, and I have followed it ever since, and I am so happy for you and your family on this outcome.
    Loved your blog – now know from where OD gets her writing skills.

    Reply
  7. Diane dotchin

     /  May 2, 2009

    Fantastic.
    Yep, amazing women do, do amazing things, and you certainly fall into that category

    Reply
  8. Great news Jenny and what a fight you had. You always did kick ase girl.

    Reply
  9. Slave

     /  May 4, 2009

    That is such great news, we are so happy for you.
    We have to have another fish dinner after you come back from
    your holliday.
    Good luck to you and your family

    Reply
  10. Meghan

     /  May 4, 2009

    YAYYYY kisses and hugs. F**k off Gertrude forever lol. keep the blog, its wonderful

    Reply
  11. TT & ZT

     /  May 9, 2009

    Congrats on your progess… we knew you could do it. Z & I went in the Mothers Day Classic with 11,000 others raising $$$ for Breast Cancer. I walked 4.5 km in 37 min and Z was 1.5 mins after me. Take care… we will see if we can catch up when you holiday over here……. LOL TT & ZT

    Reply

Leave a Reply

