• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

4 sleeps to go…..

I have had a couple of busier days. …Don’t worry not too busy just doing some things that needed to be done.

Yesterday I had pre- operative blood tests and also saw my dentist for a fitting for the wax mold for my new teeth -just to check it sitting right before they make the real thing.  It was fortunate that the diagnostic lab and the dentist are in the same place as it was very easy to go from one thing straight  to the other.  yesterday afternoon I attended a Lymphoedema informaiton meeting at the Cancer Society in Auckland.  I found that very informative and know it will help me stop lymphoedema before it starts or gets too serious.  Lymphoedema is swelling caused by the lymph fluid not draining correctly due to the lack of lymph nodes.  There are exercises I can do and precautions I can take – for example wearing a compression sleeve especially for flights or making sure I dont get any trauma bumps bruises bites scratches to that arm. 

Today I had my “hopeful” final review with the radiation oncologists.   I will not see them again unless there is treatment to be done to an area not already radiated.  They agree with my assessment of it being a bit of a waiting game after surgery.  They complimented me on how well I look and I am getting that a lot lately.  I guess people don’t expect me to be looking as good as I do after all that is happened to me! 

For both my trips to Auckland, yesterday and today, I took the trian as it is a little more relaxing than driving in.  Today instead of catching the Link bus back to Newmarket, I wandered back down by myself.  I was so pleased that I had no tiredness, or breathlessness from walking, which I had been expecting with the cold I had all week.  I bought myself another pair of sneakers while I was there.  These ones are more street style than exercise style so I can wear them when I do similar walking jaunts.  

Also while I was up there.  I got a phone call from my IBC “sister” L (and a very small sisterhood it is) She was so happy for me that I finally was getting my surgery.   It was good to hear from her and I always find it reassuring to do so as she is a 9 yr survivor. 

The final thing I did while I was out ,was when I got back to Papakura to visit the shop that provides post mastectomy bras etc. I will pop in and see them about 6 weeks after surgery – two weeks before our trip and get myself my prosthesis and more bras for taking to Aussie.  I will also get a compression sleeve etc to prevent lymphodema from the flight.

OH and I are having a quiet weekend – we will not see YD this weekend – and hopefully just have some couple time.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Shona Williams

     /  April 18, 2009

    Thinking of you (and your family) taking on the next big step in the journey. I hope all goes well with the surgery and the outcome is the best case scenario one. The positive attitude that comes thru on you blog is amazing – keep it up. Take care. S

    Reply
  2. Diane dotchin

     /  April 19, 2009

    Thinking of you all

    Love Diane

    Reply
  3. Thinking of you, and best of luck for tomorrow.

    Andrea xx

    Reply
  4. kirbyc

     /  April 19, 2009

    Sending Love and strength xox

    Reply

Leave a Reply

