• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

YD’s Trip

YD and I had a wonderful trip – very busy but not too tiring – we just took things at our own pace and did things in our own time.  I will be putting photo’s on my facebook page and on YD’s facebook page and on our joint bebo page.  If you  would like to see the photos and are not already friended to me on these pages and would like to be I will put a link to the profiles once I have uploaded  the photos.

But as a quick peek of our trip here are some photo’s – good food

crepes at the farmers market - Kerikeri

crepes at the farmers market - Kerikeri

Mezze platter - Cafe Jerusalem

Mezze platter - Cafe Jerusalem

 

good buys – some treats I bought for myself

scarf,purse, and hat from Paihia craft market

scarf,purse, and hat from Paihia craft market

 

good scenery

Kerikeri stone store

Kerikeri stone store

YD and I at "Hole in the Rock"

YD and I at "Hole in the Rock"

Highlights of our trip – Friday afternoon drive up to Kerikeri with a coffee/iced chocolate stop at Whangarei, unpacking at the Holiday Park and dinner at the nearby restaurant.  Saturday – morning exploring Paihia including Craft market, afternoon  boat trip to see dolphins and to the “hole in the rock” Dinner at cafe in Kerikeri.  Sunday – morning Kerikeri Farmers market, Rewa’s village (where YD saw a picture of her 5x great grandfather on her fathers side), Kaliedoscope World, fudge factory, chocolate factory, – afternoon trip via car ferry to Russell. dinner was takeaways from McD’s and Subway.  Monday trip home stopping off at Kawakawa, Kawiti glow-worm caves and Kaiwaka (where I was born and lived for the first few years of my life)

The hardest part of the trip was the driving up there and back.  Gertrude reacted a bit more to all the activity but was kept pretty much under control by medication.  YD actually got given presents by the stall holders at the craft market when we were talking about the fact we were up there for her “birthday trip”

paua shell and purple scarf - YD's gifts

paua shell and purple scarf - YD's gifts

Being a little cynical but I guess the combination of  “Mum with Breast Cancer” with “Daughter with intellectual disability” was a bit of a combination that bought out people’s sympathy/ generosity.  I did appreciate it and YD loved it.

Yesterday I was busy with an oncologist appointment just checking that the surgery was going ahead. They want to see me after the surgery just to discuss the results. I also dropped off my preadmission paperwork at Brightside hospital (where I am having my surgery) and went to see M, the travel agent that is organising the trip I won, to pay for the trip extras we have added.  I now have the trip itinerary in my little hot hand and am so looking forward to it.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

