• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

home again, home again jiggety jig

Well folks they have finally got it  this time,  the bug that has been causing all the hospital admissions.  They hadn’t managed to culture anything from my swabs and blood tests on my previous admissions.  The hilarious thing is that the bug they found was enterobactor – I hadn’t heard of it and so I googled it and it said “Enterobacter bacteria are nosocomial opportunistic pathogens ”

of course nosocomial was a new word so I looked up that

“Nosocomial infections are infections which are a result of treatment in a hospital or a healthcare service unit, but secondary to the patient’s original condition. Infections are considered nosocomial if they first appear 48 hours or more after hospital admission or within 30 days after discharge.”

So I caught the infection from either the hospital possibly while I was having chemo or when the  were treating me for the original infection in December or from the district  nurses who have been doing my dressings.  Arrrrrrgh!!!!!!

On the upside they now know exactly what bug it is and what antibiotic is the most effective against it.  Luckily I have got a few more weeks before surgery to make sure it is completely healed.

I came home on Tuesday afternoon and apologise for not updating the G.O.G blog til today,  but have been catching up on my sleep.  6am wakeups in the hospital are not condusive to feeling wide awake all day.  On both Wednesday and Thursday mornings I slept until 11am and today was relatively early by comparison (9.40am).

On Wednesday I had S visit in the afternoon and bring her yummy baking as usual, then we had the usual Wednesday afternoon outing with YD. OH finished work early and came with us as we had hoped to pick up our new second car then, it wasn’t quite ready so we are picking it up this afternoon.

Yesterday J came for a visit and she must have read my mind as I had decided last week when I was out with OH on our wedding anniversary to buy some 1000 piece jigsaw puzzles to keep my mind active while I’m still off work.  I had done one and have started a new one and J has now bought me a third so that will keep me occupied for the next couple of weeks.

first completed jigsaw - "olde world map"

first completed jigsaw - "olde world map"

Talking about last Tuesday (wedding anniversary)  OH and I had a nice day we went out to Maraetai for lunch in a cafe by the beach and then continued round that road and went to Botany (shopping centre)  where I got my jigsaws and we looked in a few other shops and stopped for a coffee.  I know that I am missing a few teeth and my regrowing hair has a few grey patches but…. The girl asked me if I had a “super gold” card!!!!!  For you non NZers the supergold card is a card that gives discounts and free things to over 65 yr olds!!  I was totally shocked and flabbergasted that she thought I was 65!!!

This morning I went downtown with MD acting as my taxi as she doesnt have any uni classes this semester on Fridays.  I had a few errands to run and whiile I was down there I booked into the dentist to get my teeth fixed before I go get myself measured up for my new top partial plate. 

I am trying to keep myself at home and out of mischief as much as possible just so I am not overdoing things as my blood counts although approaching normal are a bit on the low side and I want to be as fit and healthy as I can be, going into my surgery in April.  Having said that I look at my schedule for next week and I have got something happening every day but Monday.  I have an Oncologist assessment on  Tuesday up at the hospital, usual Wednesday afternoon outing with YD, the dentist in the morning and YD’s IEP (Individual Education Plan) meeting in the afternoon on Thursday and my herceptin chemo at the hospital on Friday.  So I am quite busy without even trying.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. BRO

     /  March 12, 2009

    Thats ok – I was given pensioner fares on the bus in Wagga Wagga in ’04, & its good to see that they are getting things sorted wiyh your bugs.

    Reply
  2. jayne

     /  March 13, 2009

    ….and you looked great the other day, nothing like being back at home eh.
    Yep, don’t ‘overdo’ things next week (as much as you would like too) Lol
    ….and roll on April, lets get it happening and over with then you can concentrate on holiday breaks. – Yeeha.
    Enjoy your weekend, eat and sleep heapz.
    Jayne. x

    Reply
  3. sish

     /  March 14, 2009

    there must be something going on with this family – I got offered a seat on the trm the other day … not just once but twice!!!

    good to hear they have identified the right bug to treat and don’t be too annyed at the hospital. My reiki noise has been telling me that was the best place for you so it cant have been the source.

    pity we live so far apart – there are loads of jigsaws here and at M’s dads place. R is addicted and has one on the go at all times. fabulously morish when you are trying to spend more time at home – don’t forget to go to bed tho 😉

    luv and hugs

    Reply

Leave a Reply

