• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

On temporary release!

I got let out of the hospital today (Saturday) but only til tomorrow night.  The infection started flaring up again on Thursday night and by Friday afternoon  the tube tunnel was inflamed again and stood out quite a lot from my surrounding skin.  The infectious diseases people came to have another look and said they were going to change my antibiotic but it would mean I was in hospital for another two weeks on IV.  On further discussion between the doctors they decided they would try me on a high strength antibiotic in tablet form over the weekend and reassess on Monday.   As it was in tablet form (3 tablets every 8 hours) they said I could have weekend leave as long as I didn’t feel sick.  If I start feeling unwell I need to return to the hospital sooner but otherwise I don’t need to go back until Sunday evening. 

It feels quite weird ,  being home but knowing it is only temporary – I can’t relax fully.  If  they think these antibiotics are working they will discharge me on Monday afternoon with a continued course of the antibiotic tablets.  If they dont think they have been working  the next line of attack is another change of antibiotic and back on IV which means I am then back in hospital for two weeks .  Everyone including my doctors is crossing their fingers and hoping that these tablets work.

In other news my radiation treatments went well until Wednesday,  but on Thursday they felt they couldn’t line me up enough for the radiation beams to be within the tolerences they allow so  they cancelled my radiation treatment until I could get remapped on Friday.  My radiation will start again on Monday.  Hopefully the rest of my 5 weeks will go according to plan.  The actual radiation treatments are agitating Gertrude and she is getting more red and swollen but hopefully the agitation is showing the radiation is having the desired effect. 

On Friday I actually had a very busy day as I was the test subject, for registrars sitting their exams to become oncologists, in the morning which involved me having one on one interviews and examinations with both the candidates then them presenting their findings on me and what their treatment plan would be to a panel of oncologists and being quizzed by them on how they would treat me.  That was really interesting.  It was followed by my remapping for Radiation by CT

By the time I got back up to the ward it was after 1 o’clock .  They hooked me up for my usual afternoon antibiotic and when that was finished they then did my herceptin chemo so I was hooked up to the IV for about 3 hours.

Welll thats all the news for now.  Hopefully I will be able to write on Monday night that I am home from the hospital for good.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. cheryl

     /  January 16, 2009

    Sorry to hear you have not been well jaydub. I haven’t been on line for a while so just trying to catch up. Enjoy your weekend reprieve. I was up in Auckland with my daughter who is studying there. We stayed with my Uncle although he was not there as he was in hospital having a biopsy done on a brain tumour (IT never rains but it pours) We won’t know what sort of tumour for a week or so. We are trying to think positive. I am now back at home minus my daughter and suffering a bit of Empty nest . Will be worse when my son starts in the Airforce next month.
    I wish you all the best with the antibiotic tablets and hope that they will knock the infection on the head so that you can be at home. Good luck with your remapping.

    Reply
  2. jayne

     /  January 20, 2009

    After getting your reply via txt, I thought you were back in hospital? but maybe not? when you mentioned home, I thought, hospital as it must feel like ‘home’ the last three weeks anyway.
    Just to let you know that regardless, we are all hoping that the infection is being outed so that you can be too.
    Thinking positive thoughts for you always,
    Jayne, and family.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

