• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 59 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

coming up to Christmas

I went for my Radiation oncology orientation yesterday – This is basically a meeting at the Cancer Society where they go through what is going to happen at your simulation/mapping session (which I have on Tuesday ) and what to expect when the treatment itself starts. there was only a couple of us so it was a shorter session, but we were able to ask questions about our specific treatments. The main thing I learnt from it is that I will probably have 3-4 different angled beams of radiation targetted to Gertrude.
I also have an appointment with the surgeon on Monday so Christmas week is still busy with Gertrude-related business.
The fact that it is coming up to the end of the year is having an effect on me psychologically and this was a conversation I had with the other woman at the meeting that also had breast cancer when we were talking afterwards. It is making us realise how long we have been dealing with our respective cancers. Since the symptoms started for me at the beginning of July, by the end of the year Gertrude will have been knowingly part of my life for 6 months. 5 months since diagnosis. As New Years Eve is also my 46th Birthday this is also adding to the weight on my psyche. I’m not getting depressed but it does make me think more of life in general and my own mortality in particular. the fact I have got another 4-5 months of treatment going into 2009 also plays a part.
I have been given a couple of boxes of goodies as Christmas/getwell/thank you presents. One from AFS the voluntary student exchange programme we have been involved in. We have several overseas “daughters” Hi I,C,B and our “nieces” A,N,M,A – I do the chapter newsletter for them. The other was from my work, It was a lovely box of goodies but I sort of felt weird getting it because I haven’t worked for a few months and it willl be another few months before I can put in any real hours. I think its wonderful I am still considered part of the team but can’t help feeling that I haven’t done enough to deserve this. Will probably do one more post before Christmas to update on my Monday and Tuesday appointments.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. jayne

     /  December 20, 2008

    With all what has happened (since July) you have also made me aware of my own mortality and all the ‘unfinished’ business etc etc… if anything happened that I too could be so postitive and have the strength to face what you have and have to come. Before, (for years) and throughout your recent ordeal you have always been a listening ear and support for others, and their issues- as if you never mattered. But “YOU DO MATTER” and too so many people, so never feel guilty or uncomfortable if others want to show how much they care, -Oh Jenny, always the giver and its now your turn to receive. And hold on to the thought that after Gertrude leaves that, that your ‘old job’ is still there for you, now that also says so much about you as a person. So after Tuesdays appointment ‘relax’ , enjoy your family/friends and Xmas then only 6 days till your birthday, Yeeha. hugs. x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

