• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 59 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

last Taxotere chemo

I am having all the usual chemo side effects. but the one thing that is ever present in my mind is that this is the last of my chemo with taxotere and most of these side effects will be all over in a couple of weeks. No more feeling nauseous and unwell, no more sore feet, no more aching femurs, etc,etc. I know the radiation and the surgery are going to be tough but I am going to feel so much more like myself through those two treatments than I have through the chemo. I am carrying on with herceptin for another 9 months but that doesn’t have any of the major side effects that the taxotere does.
The countdown into Christmas has begun and I am fairly relaxed. Its a bit frustrating that my worst time for side effects is now, when I would love to be more active but I am grateful that the “normal” days start on Christmas Eve so although I will probably be tired I wont be feeling the other side effects. YD is coming home from lunchtime Christmas Eve til early afternoon of the 27th. We will have a quiet Christmas day and then have more of the extended family around on Boxing Day. YD deals with the excitement of Christmas much better this way than trying to do presents and relatives and everything all on Christmas day.
I am waiting on an appointment to do the set up and simulation for my radiation and I have an appointment with my breast surgeon next Monday, so even during Christmas my treatment goes on. My next herceptin chemo is due on the 2nd of January. The oncology department only stops for Christmas Day and New Years Day.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

