• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 59 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

IBC support

Today I met a fellow IBCer in person for the first time.  (yes – I am talking about you L).  We had spoken on the phone after being put in touch with each other by my breast surgeon.  L is a 9 year survivor of IBC so gives me great hope.  But we met this afternoon, it was so nice to just chat,  and have someone know exactly what I was talking about.  We talked for about 2 1/2 hours and could have talked longer but the coffee shop was closing and we both needed to do other things.  It was wonderful just to go blah blah blah and to have someone else go blah blah blah back. 

I haven’t joined a breast cancer support group because IBC is so different to normal breast cancer I am not sure that I would get anything out of it,  and also because of my experience with the special needs support group that I ended up running because of YD and the sort of person I am, I would end up supporting people more than they were supporting me and I am not strong enough at the moment to deal with that. But the trouble is that  there isn’t enough of us IBCers around to have a local support group of our own.  I belong to the IBC network that is done by mailing list out of  the USA  which is also a good source of support and information.

So thank you L for a wonderful afternoon and I’ll shout the drinks next time LOL

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. ning

     /  December 9, 2008

    hey aunty.. as always iv been reading ur blog with interest to see how things r going for u… i think ur rite in wat u say bout the support group thing.. and what u have going on is different.. i guess as long as u have supports it doesnt matter if u dont have that formal link in to who “ur supposed to be” and obviously u do with all the whanau… like OH OD MD YD etc sound like they are being great and all ur friends and also ur IBC stuff.. must have been good for you to be like how did u find this.. what did they do for this etc.. with someone who has done it b4 u ….. anyway just wanting to say keep up the good work and im thinking of u (from way down here in the south island mwhahaha)

    Reply
  2. jayne

     /  December 9, 2008

    Great to hear you have taken that step and met with another positive person (like you) who has IBC.
    I’m quite jealous that I couldn’t be there to enjoy the coffee with you both, oh how I love my cappachino’s. (Lol).
    Such a busy year and your’ve even managed to sort our the Xmas tree thing too.
    Yes, I’ve heard all about that from YD. Im renowned for changing subjects!! so I get going now and just to say thinking of you always, 15 sleeps til Xmas!
    Jayne. x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

