• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

Big Week – Big News!!

Chemo today but the side-effects don’t seem to have kicked in as early as they usually so feeling surprisingly good for after chemo Friday night.

Make sure you read til end of this post – I’ve saved the best for last

Apologies for lack of updates this week but as you know I went to the beach for the weekend and decided to stay til Tuesday night. No internet access so no update.  Wednesday morning I had my usual pre-chemo assessment. 

It was really informative as I am still on track for surgery then radiation and found out more about the time frames about that.  Surgery will be approximately 4 weeks after my last chemo but the Christmas break may put that back slightly, then radiation will follow about 4 weeks after that all going according to plan. 

We also talked about the levels of my blood counts and also my cancer markers which are being tested again this week.  He is a bit worried about how neutorpenic I get mid-chemo cycle but trust me that I am keeping a very good eye on my health during this time and being pro-active about checking everything out with them when I am concerned that things are not quite normal.

We did talk a bit about what is going to happen after surgery and radiation, with the autopsy of my breast and lymph nodes and my cancer marker levels and another CT scan they will be able to give me some sort of prognosis.  But he did remind me that only about 25% of people do not have some sort of metastases.  Cross your fingers for remission people!!

The rest of Wednesday and Thursday were taken up doing more Christmas present organisation.  I am really on top of it so that I can finish it off on my next good pre-chemo week.

Which bring me to this morning – chemo morning.  Usually When I arrive at my chemo appointment at 10 am I have to wait for about 1/2 an hour or so for one of the nurses to be free to hook me up.  This morning I only had to wait in the waiting room for less than 10 minutes.

At 11am I got a phone call on my cell phone.  I had entered a competition that was running for Breast cancer awareness month in one of our national womans weekly mags.  They wanted stories about breast cancer.  They were ringing to say

I WON!!!

They will do a story on me and I get a trip to Queensland!

I don’t know all the details – They are ringing me and telling more beginning of next week but I am pretty ecstatic.

Next Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. ning

     /  November 21, 2008

    hey aunty.. good to hear that chemos not shaking u round soo much .. and TOTALLY awesome bout u winning the comp…

    Reply
  2. well done look forward to reading your story even if its in a womans mag lol

    Reply
  3. jayne

     /  November 22, 2008

    wow, I’m tired just reading about all you have been up too and also so very excited for you… and I wish I could be so organised, but I’m working on it. lol. Looks like your going to have a beaut holiday thrown in the mix as well,- you so deserve it.
    Looking forward to reading your article and telling everyone “I know her”. Hoping to catch up in person real soon.
    Jayne.

    Reply
  4. Diane dotchin

     /  November 22, 2008

    That is absolutely fantastic. I am soooo happy for you

    Reply
  5. cheryl

     /  November 22, 2008

    That is so awesome jaydub. I hope all goes well for you. Keep being positive because that will help you in the long run. You are the mistress of your body. Imagine your blood cells fighting this intruder to your system. Surround yourself by positive people and talk about what you are going to do once you beat this awful intruder. Wishing you all the best and ciongratulations on this win. If you are on facebook. Type in my email address and add me as your friend. i will link you i nto my brothers battle with cancer. His PSA level has gone down to 275 from 2395 in June. his oncologist has said keep up whatyou are doing. I have had no experience of anyone reversing the trend as you have. You can do it too.
    Cheryl

    Reply
  6. Noelia

     /  November 25, 2008

    Congrats for wining the competition!!!! Im so happy for you! Send me a copy by email when the mag is out!! I will love to read that!
    Miss you tones!

    Reply
  7. Jenny

     /  November 28, 2008

    Congrats for wining the competition!!!! what great luck, when you taking your holiday? txt me when the mag is out!! I will love to read it

    Reply

Leave a Reply

