• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

Very constructive week

Well the third week of my cycle was good. On the Friday at the end of the second week it was like a switch was turned and all of a sudden I was practically normal again. 

I worked for a few hours on the Tuesday and the good news there is Gertrude definitely didn’t react as much as she has when I have been active 3rd weeks of previous cycle.  She is still bigger and gets red and sore but doesn’t get any where near as bad as she did.

Oncologist assessment visit on Wednesday bought lots of constructive/good news. 

1)Because Gertrude seems to be reacting more to the chemo we are starting to look at surgery as the next treatement option followed by radiation. 

2)All the test results were back in from my two little day visits to hospital during the cycle and everything came back normal.  Which means it was purely chemo that was causing the side effects no bugs etc, it will be recurrent for the nest few cycles until I stop the taxotere but at least we know what we are dealing with

3)with surgery as looking as my next treatment I may be able to get something done to both boobs at once in the public health system I will find out when they refer me to the breast surgeons.  I still have private as an option but if they can do what I want in public and in a timely fashion, I may go that route as then my results from the ‘autopsy’ they will do on Gertrude and involved lymph nodes will be more accessible to the oncologists in the public system.  This is important for my staging and them being able to give me some sort on prognosis for the future.

Other good test result news i got this week was that my neutrophil count for my blood test that I do on Thursday (day before Chemo) came back higher than its been during this whole process usually its been around 4 on my thursday tests (normal is between 2-8) this time it was 6 so I might not bottom out so much this time. Here’s hoping!

Part of the reason I havent written another blog entry this week Is because I have been out, busy trying to organise a few Christmas presents as I realise I very few good weeks/days left before Christmas.  I don’t have the luxury of thinking I have two whole months to do my shopping etc done in.  I am doing up a bit of a plan about how I am going to get organised.

OH and I have got into a bit of a pattern for assessment /chemo week.  I like having him there especially for the Wednesday assessment meeting with the oncologist because that’s where we discuss treatment changes, options and all thats sort of thing.

On the Friday for the last two chemo treatents I have actually taken the train up to Newmarket – the first time I then caught the link bus to the hospital,  but yesterday I actually walked up through newmarket and the domain probably about a 40 minute walk (would have taken me less time a few months ago I am definitely not as fit as I used to be.)  Part of the reason I am doing this is that I like to do one last more self-reliant more normal thing before I have the chemo and have to rely on OH or some one driving me home because the chemo side effects start kicking in.  I ring OH when I have been hooked up to the chemo and he comes in and keeps me company for the second half of it and then takes me home.

Last night I ended going out with OD to a fashion show that she had got tickets for free from her work.  the people she was going to take had a sudden change of schedule so she had a ticket going begging.  I thought seeing as it was a purely sitting down and watching activity I could probably manage it and it was nice to get out and see something different. I just dosed myself up with all my side-effects meds before I left home and that kept them pretty much at bay until I got home.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Jayne

     /  November 2, 2008

    Great to read that all and all things are progressing postively for you. Thats so good, the only way is up and as for ‘Gertrude’ the only way is out!! Sounds like your’ve had a ‘full on’ week, shopping and a fashion show…
    Keeping yourselve busy, (but not too busy I hope). Haven’t seen you for a few weeks but you are always in my thoughts.
    Hopefully I’ll catch you this week coming and in between all the xmas shopping.. lol
    And to finish, “Life is like riding a bicycle – you don’t fall off unless you stop pedalling.# Claude Pepper. x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

