• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

Hair, eyes, brain – whats next to go?

I am definitely noticing chemo’s effect on other parts of me other than the hair on my head.  I am losing the hair under my arms and on my legs – thats a good thing!! Not so good – my eyebrows and eyelashes are starting to depart – still have them but sparser than they were.  I havent lost much more hair on my head but are waiting to see what this week brings as it seems to be the third week after chemo that has the biggest hair loss. 

My eyesight is playing up and I’m not sure whether it is just to do with the tiredness or whether its a side effect all of its own.  I got very frustrated when I couldn’t thread a needle this morning. and I have had trouble reading at different times although sometimes I seem to be able to read fine although I find I cant read for as long as I used too.  They also warn you about “chemo brain”  My brain definitely isn’t as quick as it usually is.

Onto more cheerful news – OH, MD and I had a good weekend away.  Felt pretty good and managed to get out and do some activities on Saturday.  We went to a glass blowing studio and watched them make glass scent bottles and bought a vase – which I am not allowed til Christmas as it is my Christmas present. 

We then went to Huka Prawn park -did the tour then fished for prawns.  Didn’t catch any, although several got hold of the line and stole the meat off it before I could pull them in. It was quite fun to do anyway but it would be better to do on a more summery day. OH caught 3. We then went to the restaurant and had a huge platter of prawns to share between the 3 of us. 

prawn feeding

prawn feeding

 

prawn fishing

prawn fishing

Came back into Taupo township after that, where they had a gypsy fair in the domain- We looked round there and I bought myself two more hats – more summery ones with wider brims to protect me from the sun.  On Sunday the weather was worse and rained.  We drove down to Waiouru and stopped off at the army museum as we were early for dropping MD off.  We dropped her at the army camp and then went to Ohakune for lunch we took a detour to the Tangiwai memorial but it was too wet to hop out and look at it.  We picked MD back up and saw Soulja Boi for all of 5 minutes before he was due back at his barracks.  He is looking as if the army life real suits him – looks good in his uniform and looks really fit and healthy.  We drove back to Taupo and grabbed a quick dinner and then drove home. 

I definitely want to get away more but think while I’m on chemo it will be limited to every third weekend. Part of me would love to take off for a week on my own to some secluded beach or similar but know that it is not wise  to go on my own.

Well thats all for now

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Jayne

     /  October 6, 2008

    Sounds like you all had a busy fun weekend. Packed a lot in, in such a short time.
    Glass blowing, gypsy fairs, (they sell great hats eh?) and fishing,….
    I can just taste the prawns now – yum. And its great your not letting the ‘symptoms’ from Gertrude get you down.
    Remember your family (and friends) love you just the way you are. Oh, and I can’t wait to see the vase. I’ll just have to wait til Xmas! Ok, you can put you feet up now, and so will I.
    Jayne. x

    Reply
  2. Sis H

     /  October 7, 2008

    sounds like you had a great time – thats awesome. Raining at Tangiwai huh – how appropriate.
    The idea of getting away is a great one so go for it whenever you can manage it

    keep taking care
    luv and hugs

    Reply

Leave a Reply

