• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

Cute cut and not so cute cuts

hy hair on Saturday morning, although you can't see it my hair was thinning rapidly feeling my prickly hairhow they plug me in

                                                                                                           my hair – Saturday morning, thinning                        

                                                                                                            feeling my prickly hair

                                                                                                          how they plug me in

 

 

Sorry I’ve been too busy since my haircut to do an update.  After psyching myself to lose my hair, and my whole family psyching themselves for me to look terrible with virtually no hair, we were all really pleasantly surprised how much we liked my new haircut.  Even YD liked it – although she couldnt stop giggling at my haircut.  All in all, a very positive response.  OH is definitely having the most difficulty adjusting, he’s missing his darling with long sexy curly hair but would rather have me bald and flatchested than not at all. I’ve not felt very self-conscious at all going out in public even without a hat. Although as my hair thins more and falls out more the hats will come in handy.  I’ve “only” got ten hats and OH thinks I’ve got enough!!!!!! LOL

Admittedly I did need a few glasses of wine (3) to get up the courage to cut it but even sober I’m quite happy with my hair.

 Yesterday I took YD out to Maraetai, we had an early lunch at a cafe,and then walked along the beach. I definitely needed my hat on to keep my head warm in the breeze. In the afternoon OH and I visited my M-i-l with OD and YD. She also got a pleasant surprise when I pulled my hat off and she actually liked the way I looked.

Today I had to be up at the hospital 9am for my portacath operation appointment. Of course that meant lovely motorway rushhour traffic with the obligatory nose to tail crash to jam the works up. Which meant we made certain we left home with plenty of time to get to the hospital.  They did an ECG before the operation which showed everything was fine so I hope they don’t keep insisting I need them all the time.  I am getting a good idea where everything is at Auckland Hospital, seeing they had to take me down to the cardiac department for the ECG. They have left the external tubes in, as you can see in the picture because my next chemo is on Friday and as the operation site is still going to be a bit tender – they thought it was better to leave the tubes so they won’t have to poke and prod me at all!

I have a small incision site on my chest and another by the jugular vein in my neck – the tube (catheter) was inserted into this vein there then fed under my skin to my chest where they inserted the port (metal reservoir with silicon seal) just under my skin.  I was feeling very tired and sore when they sent me home but getting back to feeling normal tonight.  It probably looks worse than I am actually feeling now.

I guess I am more looking the typical cancer patient now – hat with little or no hair,  surgery tubes, etc, but surprisingly I still feel like myself when I look in the mirror.  I am actually even surprising myself how unselfconscious/happy I feel with myself and that has got to be a good thing.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. BRO

     /  September 15, 2008

    We read it every night with interest- we are also monitoring one from Oz at the moment as well – BRO & BRO’s OH chief bridsemaid( many moons ago) – her aunt is rather ill in Brisbane.
    You look quite presentable with a haircut, quite different, but quite good all the same. OH says she will probably ring Thursday PM, if that suits. She will text first to see if you are OK.
    We think of you daily and are hoping all goes well (or as well as can be expected with chemo)
    You sound as if your spirits are quite high so keep them up there – it could have been sudden & worse & we then would not have this entertaining blog to read, so will talk later in the week

    Reply
  2. Sis M

     /  September 17, 2008

    Being there for someone elses haircut felt odd – but being able to support you in anyway was important to me. I must say that it was great to hear everyone say the same thing after your haircut “it don’t look half bad” – it does look good. I was pleased to hear YD reaction was positive.
    Take care – don’t overdo things and get yourself too tired.

    Reply
  3. OS2

     /  September 20, 2008

    Your hair cut suits you… I agree it doesn’t look half bad.
    Good to chat the other nite…… hope that you will let me know if there is something I can research or do for you in the natural therapies way. You sound better than alot of our patients when they are going thru chemo.

    Take care from OS2 A and Z

    Reply
  4. Shelly Gray

     /  October 11, 2008

    hi jenny shells here (Country Floral) sorry havent been in touch busy with new job You two have been real busy as i see been reading your blogs just want to send you my love and best whishes keep thinking positiive shells XXXXXXXOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    Reply

Leave a Reply

