• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 59 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

No, it’s not the flu – it’s just chemo

Have just had the liaison nurse from the Cancer Society visit.  It was nice to be reassured that all the little niggles and pains I have got are totally normal.  My nausea has eased but I feel like I have got the flu or something – very achy legs/joints and feeling really tired. There are also other weird side affects as in my eyes taking longer to adjust to shade after being in the sun – have to wear sunglasses more often. (I am having to be a lot more sensitive/sensible about my sun exposure) 

I feel really proud of myself – I went out this morning and did a couple of errands and some shopping -then came home and made myself a ham and tomato toasted sandwich – first time I have felt like “cooking” since Friday. 

 I have made contact with an IBC (Inflammatory Breast Cancer) support network based in the States.  MD first made contact with someone via a clip on “YouTube” about IBC.  I am realising by reading other people’s stories just how lucky I was to get diagnosed so fast and treatment started straight away.  This has given me a lot of hope that there will be a positive outcome to this treatment. 

I am going to try to cook dinner tonight but will probably go to bed early after that. 

YD moves to her new house today with all her housemates so have to ring after dinner and see how that has gone.  We will probably have her around for dinner on Thursday night, as her and her dad are due for their usual date for haircuts.  It was supposed to be last week but OH forgot with everything else that was going on.  I have actually ordered a couple books from the internet that we think will be useful resources explaining this situation to YD

anyway time for my nap 🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. fred

     /  September 2, 2008

    hey sis have been reading ur blog with interest just thought i would say 52 memos went out yesterday where i work we having a shave party at 4pm on saturday 13th in the manawatu to support u and all other people that have been effected by cancer so far we have 8 people shaving their hair and we have already raised just over $150.00 for the cancer society which we are hoping on the day to make over $1000 so that one day they maybe able to find a cure or a prevention against all types of cancers stay strong love from the manawtu

    Reply
  2. Hi cuz
    Your such a postive lady
    Keep it up

    Reply

Leave a Reply

