• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

All hooked up

Well chemo started on Friday – it was a very long day. My appointment was for 10am but I didnt get called til closer to 11.30am.  then I was hooked up until about 4.30pm. 

I have had some side effects but nothing too drastic. Mainly a little bit of reflux that has been kept under control with the anti-nausea meds, and a bit of cramps on Friday night, Saturday morning.  I got a very flushed face and a bit of a rash on Saturday about lunch time but temp was normal – rung the hospital just to check and they told me to use cool flannels etc to get the hotness/flush down from my face.  It was funny because I was actually home alone at the time. Because the girls had thought I was fine they went off to do their jobs they had to do while Gary popped out to get some things at the shops.  He came home to me having hot flushes LOL.
The chemo also seems to aggravating Gertrude , which is a good thing because it means it is targeting the right place.
I have been getting heaps of love and support from everyone , friends and family.  flowers, cards, gifts and good luck charms, heaps of messages and phonecalls and even Reiki sent from my sis H in Oz (Reiki is focussed positive healing energy/thoughts – usually done in person but can be done over distance if person practising Reiki can visualise you)
I have a little unicorn that I am attaching all my little gifts to so it can accompany me to my treatments etc.  In the picture you can see that it has my guardian angel from friend J in its ear, a pretty bracelet that my “adopted daughter” M made me around its neck as a choker and the “Daffodil Day ” daffodil as a corsage.
We are trying to think of a name for the unicorn (any suggestions can be posted in comments)
Remembering to take all my pills is hard work (more details of that on chemical warfare page) -just trying to remember which to take when is quite hard work for the days around chemo. I am on more pills just before and after chemo. I forgot to take my sleeping tablets last night and paid for it at 4am this morning, luckily I was able to have a little nap later in the morning.
Geez, anybody would think I was sick LOL
Geez, anybody would think I was sick LOL
my good luck unicorn

my good luck unicorn

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Jayne

     /  August 30, 2008

    Like I said you are one ‘tough customer’, Gertrude doesn’t have a hope in hell, I love your spunk and attitude and I so love the unicorn too, especially the pierced ear.
    You go rock, thinking of you heaps (and OH, ED, Md and YD too).. See you Thursday? if not before, remember just a txt, phone call or email away. x x x

    Reply
  2. From the USA to Auckland….hello,
    So Glad to hear you are finally getting chemo.
    Also glad your daughter and I connected on YouTube.
    For your ‘blog readers’, they might want to check out
    http://www.komotv.com/ibc
    In 2006 I got mad because no one was educating anyone on IBC, so trudged around and found this wonderful TV station. They have followed my mission of telling everyone about “Gertrude” and still do today.

    We started a foundation to make sure we CAN educate as many as possible, which you and your friends can see at:
    http://www.ERASEIBC.com

    From across the pond, LET’S TOSS GERTRUDE out the door.

    Patti Bradfield, President
    The Inflammatory Breast Cancer Foundation

    Reply

Leave a Reply

