• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

No longer in limbo

Today’s the day I do my echocardiogram at Middlemore.  Feel like I am no longer in limbo -which is the way I have felt most of this week – just waiting for things to start.  

Have started to get “get well” cards which feels weird as I dont feel that sick.  I also got a bunch of flowers from the girls at CF – Thank you  -made me feel special.  My friends are being great although there are still some I am yet to tell. The sort of friends that even though we are close I only see or talk to every few months. It’s hard to ring them up or email them or see them just to tell them this news.  It’s been easier to tell the friends and aquaintances I see all the time. 

I have been taking things easy this week and it has been good for me.  I have had a touch of the chest cold that OH has had but with antibiotics it is under control thank god, its something I am going to have to be really careful of once chemo starts.

Have got my new car which is wonderful and a new laptop  with wireless router so I can sit anywhere in the house and play my computer games or update my blog etc and  a TV for the bedroom.  OH is still setting up laptop and TV but they should be both up and running by the time I start chemo next week.

Yesterday while I was waiting for them to cut an extra key and code another remote for the car I took the opportunity to look round Manukau for some hats. I bought three different ones and I had already bought one in the Farmers sale.

the start of my hat collection

the start of my hat collection

 I feel I have done as much as I can to organise things for what is to come.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. judy

     /  August 21, 2008

    Hats look great, a few more and you will be catching up to yd’s collection. Keep up the positive attitude. Hope all goes well next week.

    Reply
  2. OD

     /  August 25, 2008

    Gosh… whose brilliant idea was it to have the soft toys model them? That is so inspired and creative 😀

    Ahahaha ahahaha… that tickles 😛

    Reply
  3. hello!,I really like your writing very much!
    percentage we communicate more approximately your post on AOL?
    I need an expert in this house to resolve my problem.

    May be that is you! Having a look ahead to peer you.

    Reply
  4. Hello, I check your new stuff regularly. Your story-telling style is
    awesome, keep up the good work!

    Reply
  5. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading it,
    you will be a great author. I will always bookmark your blog and will come
    back later on. I want to encourage continue your great writing, have a nice evening!

    Reply
  6. I visited many web sites except the audio quality for audio songs present
    at this website is genuinely wonderful.

    Reply
  7. I have read so many posts regarding the blogger lovers however
    this post is truly a fastidious piece of writing, keep it
    up.

    Reply
  8. Hello There. I found your weblog using msn. That is an extremely well written article.
    I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to learn more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will definitely comeback.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

