• Pages

  • comments

    If you have popped over here from my facebook page could you please add comments in the blog rather than on the link on facebook itself. I dont want to worry YD unnecessarily Thanks. You can now use your facebook log in so you dont need to enter extra details if you like
  • All about Gertrude

    Gertrude is the name we decided to call my cancerous breast hence the title of this blog. Although I had to keep my breast through chemo and radiation due to the nature of IBC - once it 'blew up' it no longer looked like my breast and I couldn't wait to get rid of it. Calling it Gertrude was a way of seperating it from myself. This main page is where I write about the general goings on that relate to Gertrude, there is another page that are more a diary of treatments etc This blog is a public blog so although I am being very honest about my battle with Gertrude I have "changed names to protect the innocent" - because everyone can see it if you write comments on the blog pages please use the same abbreviations for other family member or friends that I do. Please feel free to ask questions if you want clarification because then other people who might have been wondering the same thing can read your question and our answers.
  • Abbreviations

    OH- Other Half (Hubby), OD- Oldest Daughter, MD- Middle Daugher, YD- Youngest Daughter, SB- soulja boi MD's fiance in the army (now ex fiance), OD's R OD's partner, BS- Breast surgeon whose initials just happen to be BS as well, BC- our GP (family doctor), Dr H- my medical oncologist, all other friends family etc will be referred to as initials etc
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 61 other followers

  • visitors

  • SUSAN’S ARMY

    No Princess Alone button

Apart from the pants…

Apart from the ‘travelling pants’ what have I been up to these past 3 weeks since I wrote about the decision of stopping chemo.

I had my exam for the one paper I was doing this semester on the 18th June so some of the time was spent studying for that.  Although to be totally honest I struggled to find the motivation.  I had a bad cold the week before the exam and I struggled to study because of that but also it was a slight case of the ‘why bothers’ – I couldnt help thinking to myself what was the point of studying for an exam when I was not intending to carry on with the course and there was very little hope of me graduating.  OH even asked me why I was bothering with sitting the exam…. but it came down to the fact I had committed myself to this semester … regardless of whether I was carrying on or not I had to prove to myself that I could finish what I had started and pass this paper at least.

Once the exam was over I started to unwind.  At my last oncology appointment Dr H had added yet another painkiller to the mix – something that would work on the pain in my fingers and toes.  Amtriptylene is also a antidepressant, not that I need it for that, but also acts as somewhat of a sleeping pill.  So I have been sleeeping a lot somedays – a solid 10-12 hours sleep at night and then sometimes still an afternoon nap of2-3 hours.  But I am just listening to my body and sleeping if it says to sleep.  I’m making up for all the time the pain (corrrect medical term paraethesia) kept me awake at night.

I have not been totally lazy however.  I volunteered to go down to Rotorua last weekend to man a display for Breast Cancer Aotearoa Coalition at an event that was part of the inaugaral mid-winter festival.  (The organiser of an “Undies Splash and Dash” were to split the proceeds between our group and the Prostate Foundation.  There wasnt a huge number of entries for this the first event but they have high hopes for next year).  As I don’t trust myself to drive that far, I organised for Gary to come with me and for us to stay the night down there.  I tthought it would give us a chance to have a little bit of a weekend away.

Me andthe ‘leader of the undies pack’ beside the BCAC display

We meandered around Government Gardens on the Sunday morning, had a soak in the private hot pools at Polynesian Spa and drove out to see the Blue and Green Lakes and Lake Tarawera.

At Lake Rotorua

The view from our private hot pool at Polynesian Spa

Blue Lake

Lake Tarawera with Mount Tarawera in the background

SisM has also helped get me out and about.  She has an overabundance of annual leave to use up so is taking Fridays off at the moment so for the last two Fridays we have gone for short walks, first week was a walk around the Botanical Gardens after her taking me to get my port flushed at the local district nurses office, and a pleasant brunch at the Gardens cafe.  Then this week it was a walk around the coastline at Maraetai C came with us as she has also finished her exams.  It was a gorgeous day for the middle of winter

one of the little hidden coves on the way

The view at Te Pene Beach -as far as we went on the walkway from Maraetai

And of course there was the obligatory cafe stop when we got back to Maraetai.

This next week my wonderful Uni friend AW has organised for us to go away to a bach at Whangamata.  It will be myself, AW, MH and NU-B (my best uni friends) for Thursday and Friday nights and then OH and possibly some of the rest of the family may come down for the Saturday and Sunday nights.  I am really looking forward to it – I am hoping the weather is good for it.  but we are quite happy to curl up with books etc if it isn’t

My hair, my taste,  appetite, and energy are returning slowly, my fingers are responding to the amitriptylene and are calming down a little so I am definitely feeling a little more like my normal self, I have been off chemo  for a month now and I am hoping in another months time things will have recovered even more.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I looooove the view from the hot pool in Rotorua!
    Glad to hear you are feeling more normal, hopefully that will continue and you will soon even be feeling “good” :-) Good on you for sticking to your guns and sitting that exam, and best of luck for good results! <3

    Reply

Leave a Reply

